April 9, 2012

Festool T18+3 Li-Ion Cordless Drill - Review

Festool_18_drill_in_case.JPG

Oh Festool, what are you going to do to us next?

Festool has a certain way of reimagining a tool and messing with our heads while they're at it. They've done it with circular saws and they've done it with sanders. Now, they're taking a stab at cordless drills. They sent us one of their new 18 volts to check out and it didn't take long for us to see that this time the Fes-mojo is centered around their FastFix chuck system. This feature basically makes the drill a PTO with a trigger. The removable chucks (of which there are four) click on and off a couple of ways and all of them are beyond useful (and all of them are quite durable). We have...

ArrowContinue reading: "Festool T18+3 Li-Ion Cordless Drill - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (4) | social bookmarking

April 6, 2012

Makita LXPK01 18V LXT Li-Ion Cordless 3-1/4" Planer - Review

Makita_planer_hero.JPG

So there's this crusty old bastard of a carpenter that we've been working with. (And don't get all offended, because we tell him that to his face. "You know, you're a crusty old bastard." "Grumble....grumble...") Like all crusty old bastards, this one is completely set in his patterns and nothing, and we mean nothing, is going to change the way he does things.

ArrowContinue reading: "Makita LXPK01 18V LXT Li-Ion Cordless 3-1/4" Planer - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 4, 2012

Goo Gone Pro Power - Review

Goo_gone_hero.JPG

So a while back (over six months....) we were contacted by the peeps at Goo Gone. They said, "yo, we're gonna send you something smeared with some nasty goo and along with it, we'll include a bottle of Goo Gone so you can clean up the mess and keep whatever is is we're sending you." (note: heavy paraphrasing going in). We said, "yo, honestly, don't bother, we've been meaning to write about your great product for years, we'll just write about our previous experiences with it." Then they said, "yo, this is already in the works, you got some of our product coming your way." At which point we said, "yo, thanks!"

ArrowContinue reading: "Goo Gone Pro Power - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

March 30, 2012

Sola Focus Vial 4' Level - Review

Sola_hero.JPG

So when you think "high-end level," you think, "Stabila." Right? Well, yeah, but as it turns out there is another player in the arena. We were contacted by Sola Levels last year and thought, "why not, we'll give anything a try." Honestly we had never heard of the brand and thought it was just another mid-range level vying for some market space. We got to talking to them and it wasn't long before we were convinced otherwise.

ArrowContinue reading: "Sola Focus Vial 4' Level - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

January 19, 2012

The Renovation Continues....

renovation_tools.jpg

The renovation marches on and has gobbled up about 120% of my free time. I've got a whole lot more in the way of thoughts on the general aspects of the project, but I'll save that for later.

Here's a shot of the nightly tool storage area. Through the project, I've discovered a number of MVP tools that I'm going to cover in more detail in the coming days. These are tools that I've been using that have really helped things along. You can pretty much see them all here: the Milwaukee M12 Jacket, the DeWalt worm drive, the Bosch Impact Driver, the Makita 15 amp Recip Saw and the Hardcore Hammer. There are others, but those are the ones at the top of the mind (probably because I used them all last night).

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

September 19, 2011

Hardcore Hammer Blunt Force Hammer - Review

HH_BF_hero.JPG

Earlier in the year we got all in a tizzy over the Hardcore Hammer. It's a framing hammer with a two part face that solves some of the issues associated with the general wear and tear on a framing hammer. We really liked the thing, but it does get up into that "nearing $100 range for a hammer," which, no doubt, is pretty extreme. Our review is here. So Hardcore Hammer has recently come out with another model that has a little less bling and comes with a price tag that's much easier to swallow. That new item has the appealing name of "Blunt Force." How can you go wrong with a name like that? They sent us one so we could find out for ourselves.

ArrowContinue reading: "Hardcore Hammer Blunt Force Hammer - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

August 31, 2011

Swanson Savage Lighted Torpedo Level - Review

swanson_glo_torpedo_hero.JPG

OK, it's official. We're totally inundated in levels. It feels like this is the 50th one we've reviewed this year, and it's getting tough to come up with interesting things to say. This one, made by Swanson, is the torpedo version of their Lightning Level that we reviewed a while back.

This one has all of the same features; an aluminum body, a little button that lights up the vials and a timed shut-off (10 minutes), so you won't drain your battery dead the first time you leave it on in your tool bag. It also has a groove along the top, so you can work with pipes.

swanson_glo_torpedo_dark.JPG

We generally liked the larger version, but feel that the technology is actually more practical in the smaller format. A lighted 2' level is OK, but how often are you going to be using a 2' level in the dark? A torpedo, on the other hand, gets used in wall cavities, under sinks, in crawl spaces, and plenty of other areas where visibility blows.

swanson_glo_torpedo_top.JPG

We used it a bunch at the site and we liked it quite a bit. So yeah, this one falls in the positive side of the ledger book. It's going to cost about $25.

So there you have it, yet another review of a torpedo level! Huzzah!

Amazon

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 25, 2011

Channellock Levels - Review

channellock_levels_hero.JPG

Channellock, known specifically for things like pliers and wrenches have recently made a leap and expanded their line to include levels. Their first release in this area consists of three torpedo levels. One of each of them showed up on the doorstep, courtesy of Channellock, and we brought them to the site and handed them out in order to get some feedback. Here's what we got....

ArrowContinue reading: "Channellock Levels - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (6) | social bookmarking

August 24, 2011

M.Power Perfect Butt Profile Scriber - Review

mpower_hero.JPG

If there ever was a tool with a catchy name...

There are a couple of ways to scribe something. Most people seem to use dividers, but we gave those up years ago in favor of any little scrap of wood that's handy. M.Power has a new method and it's a really clever idea. Best of all, it's called the "Perfect Butt," so we can't wait to see what kind of perverts google sends our way after posting this one up. M.Power sent us a sample so we could check out the item ourselves.

ArrowContinue reading: "M.Power Perfect Butt Profile Scriber - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

August 23, 2011

Paslode TetraGrip Subfloor Fastening System - Review

paslode_tetra_hero.JPG

Floor squeaks are the last thing a client wants to hear after shelling out the big bucks for a new home or a renovation. It may sound like a squeak to you, but what your client is actually hearing is, "...the contractor is a dumbass..." Don't be that dumbass.

Squeaks are usually the product of a nail rubbing against wood. Wood, as our old boss used to say, is "a terrible building material; it shrinks, it rots, it expands, it warps, it splits," and on and on (after a glass of tequila, the rant could go on for a solid ten minutes) and one of the byproducts of this lack of structural integrity is the squeak.

Seems like more often than not, the squeak comes from the subfloor installation. There are a few ways to prevent the terrible noises at installation; A) smear PL or Liquid Nail all over the joists before nailing off the subfloor or B) screwing down the subfloor. Both methods are sort of time consuming and using construction adhesive adds a significant mess factor.

Paslode's new TetraGrip Subfloor Fastening System aims at being the fastest kid on the block (as well as the strongest). The basics of it are that it's a nailgun that shoots a special (and we mean 'special') nail that truly locks the subfloor down to the joists.

ArrowContinue reading: "Paslode TetraGrip Subfloor Fastening System - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Newsletter
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Cody: I loved this drill, it got lost in the move read more
Michael: An extension ladder is the only piece missing from my read more
Tool Snob: Right. Well at least they aren't forced to solve a read more
Mark: Canadians are not eligible. The FIRST line of the rules read more
david: The worst piece of garbage ever is the car pocket read more
Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

HomePire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy