October 2, 2012

Uffy TH-T-CZ10 23 Gauge Pinner - Review

uffy_pinner.JPG

Couple weeks back, we reviewed a nice brad gun from Uffy. Now, we're going to turn our attention to one of their 23-gauge pinners, a tool with the roll-off-the-tongue name of TH-T-CZ10. They sent us this fella a while ago and we've been using it off and on and putting it head to head against our other pinners.

ArrowContinue reading: "Uffy TH-T-CZ10 23 Gauge Pinner - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 25, 2012

Racor Snap2It Storage System - Review

racor_hook_w_hoses.JPG

Our garage is a disaster. There's no other way to put it. It's a varsity level display of a complete organizational breakdown. Every available space is covered with something. Every unavailable space is covered with something else. Finding anything in there takes days, weeks, months. Tool Snob Jr. wandered in there three months ago and we haven't seen him since. The entropy has gotten so bad that even the local wildlife has moved out. The little family of wrens that built a nest above the window (on the inside) have taken flight, probably disgusted that their front yard looks like a Home Depot fell from an airplane only to smash to earth in the form of a 20 x 20 garage. That's actually what it looks like; that it all fell from the sky. It's that random.

ArrowContinue reading: "Racor Snap2It Storage System - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 24, 2012

Hardcore Hammers Hatchet - Review

Hardcore_hammer_Hatchet.JPG

Since we first heard about them a year and a half ago, we've been very impressed with Hardcore Hammers, so when they dropped us a line letting us know they were getting into the hatchet business, we were pretty excited. Then, when they asked if they could send us one to review, we went out and told the woodpile that the day of reckoning was near.

ArrowContinue reading: "Hardcore Hammers Hatchet - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

September 7, 2012

Paslode 16-Gauge Angled Li-Ion Finish Nailing System - Review

paslode_lion.JPG

Paslode has the reputation as the go to company for cordless nailing. Their guns have really become the standard of the category. We even hear the word "Paslode" used in a generic sense, like Kleenex and Sawzall. The company has to be aware of this dominance and they likely take great pride in their position. So along with that comes the overriding need to remain current and fresh. Enter: the new Paslode 16-Gauge Li-Ion Finish Nailer. They sent us one to review and here's what we thought...

ArrowContinue reading: "Paslode 16-Gauge Angled Li-Ion Finish Nailing System - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 6, 2012

Spotlight Shifter 1.0 and 2.0 Flashlights - Review

spotlight_1.JPG

We're starting to get into this flahslight thing. We were just wrapping up our review of the fantastic Coast HP7 flashlight when Spotlight came out of nowhere and said, "hey, wanna check out some of our flashlights. "Sure do." we said. And the verdict is....

ArrowContinue reading: "Spotlight Shifter 1.0 and 2.0 Flashlights - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 4, 2012

Uffy TH-T-1825XP Brad Gun - Review

uffy_brad_hero.JPG

A while back, a company named Uffy Tools sent us one of their TH-T-1825XP brad guns to review (and we've had it waaaay too long...sorry guys), so we set it up on site and let each and everyone borrow it. Because Uffy Says their tools are durable, we encouraged rough and careless behavior among the guys.

ArrowContinue reading: "Uffy TH-T-1825XP Brad Gun - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 30, 2012

LaSquare - Review

Lasquare_hero.JPG

We covered this a couple weeks ago and LaGesse Products, the manufacturer, was nice enough to send one along for us to try out. So we swapped it with our old rusty Stanley combo square and went to town. It's been our primary combo square for about a month. So far it has helped us run a bunch of trim, frame a wall, and plumb a sink, along with all of the other odds and ends that combo squares gets used for.

ArrowContinue reading: "LaSquare - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 29, 2012

Veto Pro Pac TP3 - Review

vpp_tp3_hero.JPG

It is our opinion that Veto Pro Pac makes the best tool bags in the industry. Hands down. No question. They can handle any and all abuse, there are a wide variety of models available, and most importantly, they're designed for not only storage but organization. The unique vertical pockets means a lot of tools in a little space with all of them somehow remaining accessible. We've had one of their XLs (review here) for over a year and we have no idea what we would do without it (or how we survived before it).

ArrowContinue reading: "Veto Pro Pac TP3 - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 15, 2012

Makita BO5041K 5" Random Orbit Sander - Review

Makita_orbital_v2_case.JPG

A few months ago, we wrote up a touching and tearful obituary about our old and dear friend, the Makita orbital. We'd had that little fella almost since the start of our carpentry career and it had always delivered and never complained. Heaving it into the dumpster was one of those moments when you realize that time flows like an unstoppable river. It was like watching the kids pack up and head off to college, except that it wasn't kids and a college, it was a tool and a dumpster. Sort of the same thing really.

ArrowContinue reading: "Makita BO5041K 5" Random Orbit Sander - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 9, 2012

Bosch DGSH181K 18 Volt Cordless Die Grinder - Review

bosch_die_grinder_hero.JPG

Imagine if a Dremel mainlined Human Growth Hormone and anabolic steroids for weeks on end. The result of such an ecstatic binge of doping would be a massive, bulked-up handle with a spinning head capable of whirling an abrasive bit into thick metal. It would be a durable tool that could withstand the constant abuse of a jobsite and remain unfazed at being casually thrown into the back of a pick-up truck. This newly engorged tool would look exactly like Bosch's new cordless die grinder.

ArrowContinue reading: "Bosch DGSH181K 18 Volt Cordless Die Grinder - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Newsletter
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Tool Snob: Kevin, you must live near me. I spent four hours read more
Kevin: good to hear things are coming along Doug. Those new read more
Peter A Dupuis: The best tape I have found was the Stanley max read more
Bob: Most large companies have enough patents granted to them that read more
Tool Snob: Oh yeah, those do look pretty similar. One cool thing read more
Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

HomePire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
All items Copyright © 1999-2015 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy