September 24, 2012

Hardcore Hammers Hatchet - Review

Hardcore_hammer_Hatchet.JPG

Since we first heard about them a year and a half ago, we've been very impressed with Hardcore Hammers, so when they dropped us a line letting us know they were getting into the hatchet business, we were pretty excited. Then, when they asked if they could send us one to review, we went out and told the woodpile that the day of reckoning was near.

ArrowContinue reading: "Hardcore Hammers Hatchet - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

September 7, 2012

Paslode 16-Gauge Angled Li-Ion Finish Nailing System - Review

paslode_lion.JPG

Paslode has the reputation as the go to company for cordless nailing. Their guns have really become the standard of the category. We even hear the word "Paslode" used in a generic sense, like Kleenex and Sawzall. The company has to be aware of this dominance and they likely take great pride in their position. So along with that comes the overriding need to remain current and fresh. Enter: the new Paslode 16-Gauge Li-Ion Finish Nailer. They sent us one to review and here's what we thought...

ArrowContinue reading: "Paslode 16-Gauge Angled Li-Ion Finish Nailing System - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 6, 2012

Spotlight Shifter 1.0 and 2.0 Flashlights - Review

spotlight_1.JPG

We're starting to get into this flahslight thing. We were just wrapping up our review of the fantastic Coast HP7 flashlight when Spotlight came out of nowhere and said, "hey, wanna check out some of our flashlights. "Sure do." we said. And the verdict is....

ArrowContinue reading: "Spotlight Shifter 1.0 and 2.0 Flashlights - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 4, 2012

Uffy TH-T-1825XP Brad Gun - Review

uffy_brad_hero.JPG

A while back, a company named Uffy Tools sent us one of their TH-T-1825XP brad guns to review (and we've had it waaaay too long...sorry guys), so we set it up on site and let each and everyone borrow it. Because Uffy Says their tools are durable, we encouraged rough and careless behavior among the guys.

ArrowContinue reading: "Uffy TH-T-1825XP Brad Gun - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 30, 2012

LaSquare - Review

Lasquare_hero.JPG

We covered this a couple weeks ago and LaGesse Products, the manufacturer, was nice enough to send one along for us to try out. So we swapped it with our old rusty Stanley combo square and went to town. It's been our primary combo square for about a month. So far it has helped us run a bunch of trim, frame a wall, and plumb a sink, along with all of the other odds and ends that combo squares gets used for.

ArrowContinue reading: "LaSquare - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 29, 2012

Veto Pro Pac TP3 - Review

vpp_tp3_hero.JPG

It is our opinion that Veto Pro Pac makes the best tool bags in the industry. Hands down. No question. They can handle any and all abuse, there are a wide variety of models available, and most importantly, they're designed for not only storage but organization. The unique vertical pockets means a lot of tools in a little space with all of them somehow remaining accessible. We've had one of their XLs (review here) for over a year and we have no idea what we would do without it (or how we survived before it).

ArrowContinue reading: "Veto Pro Pac TP3 - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 15, 2012

Makita BO5041K 5" Random Orbit Sander - Review

Makita_orbital_v2_case.JPG

A few months ago, we wrote up a touching and tearful obituary about our old and dear friend, the Makita orbital. We'd had that little fella almost since the start of our carpentry career and it had always delivered and never complained. Heaving it into the dumpster was one of those moments when you realize that time flows like an unstoppable river. It was like watching the kids pack up and head off to college, except that it wasn't kids and a college, it was a tool and a dumpster. Sort of the same thing really.

ArrowContinue reading: "Makita BO5041K 5" Random Orbit Sander - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 9, 2012

Bosch DGSH181K 18 Volt Cordless Die Grinder - Review

bosch_die_grinder_hero.JPG

Imagine if a Dremel mainlined Human Growth Hormone and anabolic steroids for weeks on end. The result of such an ecstatic binge of doping would be a massive, bulked-up handle with a spinning head capable of whirling an abrasive bit into thick metal. It would be a durable tool that could withstand the constant abuse of a jobsite and remain unfazed at being casually thrown into the back of a pick-up truck. This newly engorged tool would look exactly like Bosch's new cordless die grinder.

ArrowContinue reading: "Bosch DGSH181K 18 Volt Cordless Die Grinder - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 8, 2012

The Art of Fixing Things - Review

art_of_fixing_things.jpg

Some time this past winter, we were sent a press release about The Art of Fixing Things by Lawrence E. Pierce. We were asked if we'd like a copy to review and we said, "sure, sounds like it could be cool." We figured that since we spend about 80% of our waking hours fixing things (are you listening, Tool Snob Jr.?), we ought to give it a look see. So it was sent it on for us to look at. Like we said, this was back in winter, in the midst of the worst part of the renovation (phase one), so this review is long, long overdue. Apologies to the author.

First off, we dig the Frank Miller vibe that the cover has. We opened the book and quickly discovered that it consists of a series of tips. It doesn't have chapters, but it's broken down into categories: The Basics, Automotive, Appliance/Household/Garden, and General. The 154 numbered items each come with a title and, in most cases, a paragraph or two of description. All but a few have accompanying photos. We went through the book a few times and came to learn that it's a collection of all of those small nuggets of information and tid-bits that one accumulates over a lifetime of working with their hands.

On the whole, it's an interesting, wide-ranging, and sometime baffling selection of tips ranging from "Tip 115: Vice Grips: A Must Have Tool" to "Tip 128: Making Gaskets."

We thought the book was entertaining and we enjoyed paging through it. With 10+ years in construction, there were only a few items that were new to us (all in the automotive section), so the book won't be much use to someone with a lot of experience, but someone just starting out might be able to save some time and hardship by paying attention to these items.

Oh yeah and...

Tip 67: Oil That Sewing Machine.

Yup, with 154 tips, there are bound to be a couple duds.

$11 at Amazon

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

August 6, 2012

Fein 250Q START MultiMaster Kit - Review

Fein_fmm_tool.JPGThe whole "Fein owned the patent to the oscillating tool" thing has been well documented. The eventual fall out is that now that the patent has expired, there are all kinds of oscillating tools on the market; some for $40 and some for $400. We've always admired Fein for sticking to their guns with their own product during this onslaught of competitors. Seeing company after company undercut them on price (and quality), they never blinked. Their tool remains what it always was: a hand-held piece of finely engineered cutting, sanding, and grinding goodness. They didn't release a DIY version made from cheaper materials and they didn't make a less functional one for short money.

ArrowContinue reading: "Fein 250Q START MultiMaster Kit - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Newsletter
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Dar Gray: I live in MN 55435 - where do I find read more
Kevin: very cool makes me want to get into lath turning read more
Radeleon: I can use this in my hobby stuff. Ive been read more
chris: What saw are you trying to hook it up to? read more
cdldsl: Bought the BASIC Chippewa boots brand new a year ago. read more
Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

HomePire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy