January 21, 2013

Festool DF700 Domino XL - Review

festool_dominoxl_hero.JPG

We've hit rock bottom on our own selfishness. And the thing is that we almost feel bad about it. Almost.

One of the things about reviewing tools is that you get to keep a lot of them. But trust us, the bloom falls off the rose pretty quickly there. What sounds like heaven gets cumbersome mighty fast. One new recip saw is great, but does anyone need five or six of them? A long, long time ago Festool said they would send us one of their Domino XLs to test out, but that we'd have to send it back when we were done. They gave no time limit and said that we should keep it as long as we saw fit. No problems there. A very cool attitude on their part. So we kept it...and kept it...and kept it. Every time we sat down to write the review, we'd think, "oh wait, this means that we'll have to return the tool...maybe it would be best if we ran the review next week....or maybe the week after that." So here we are months and months later (getting close on a year), slightly ashamed and feeling like we took advantage of Festool's kindness, but we're still crouching over the tool, coveting it like some hell mutant from Dante's Inferno.

ArrowContinue reading: "Festool DF700 Domino XL - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (5) | social bookmarking

January 2, 2013

Skil iXO Vivo Power Corkscrew - Review and Giveaway

skil_vino_kit.JPG

Skil has recently hit the scene with a drinking tool. The Skil power corkscrew has been available in Europe for a couple years now (see our original coverage here) and it's now available in the states. Bosch owns Skil and in Europe, green Bosch is their DIY brand (read: Skil), so in all likelihood, the two items are exactly the same. Skil sent us one to check out and we were pretty interested in it. If it has to do with wine drinking and it flew in Europe, it has to be good, right?

Right?

Turns out, maybe not so much.

ArrowContinue reading: "Skil iXO Vivo Power Corkscrew - Review and Giveaway"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (14) | social bookmarking

December 18, 2012

Arbortech TURBOPlane - Review

arbortech_turboplane_hero.JPG

We were impressed with Arbortech way, way back when we first saw their AS160 AllSaw at a tradeshow in May of 07. Then we got a chance to test some of their woodworking tools out and loved those too. The Mini Grinder and Power Chisel, still now, are tools that we feel we've only scratched the surface of their potential. Recently we were contacted by the company again, this time to take a look at their new TURBOPlane. What is the TURBOPlane you ask? Read on...

ArrowContinue reading: "Arbortech TURBOPlane - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

December 6, 2012

The Right Brush - Review

right_brush_hero.JPG

The paint brush. A timeless tool that has remained unchanged since the days of cave painting when some thick-headed caveman first wrapped the hairs from an ox tail around the end of a stick*. What is there to improve upon with a tool this basic? There's the part you hold and then there's the part that paints. On the simplicity/genius scale, it's right there along with the wheel.

So we were a little shocked when we got a glimpse of The Right Brush. What is this? A paint brush with a pistol grip? Oh, the scandal! But, faced with painting our entire house (every single room.....four walls and the ceiling....entire trim package), we happily agreed to test out the item. If The Right Brush could take even a sliver of pain away from the mind-numbing, spirit-crushing, hand-cramping, neck-aching, arm-hurting, paint-drip-frustrating, soul-destroying act of painting, then we would love the tool until the end of days.

So they sent us one. How did it do, you ask?

ArrowContinue reading: "The Right Brush - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

December 4, 2012

Red Wing 4216 Work Boot with Boa Closure System - Review

Red_Wing_boa.JPG

UPDATE: We realized that we failed to mention the most impressive thing about the Boa and that is the fact that the 'laces' never loosen. We really like our boots to fit snug around our ankles and these deliver the good all day long.

***

As soon as we put on our first pair of Red Wing 606s, we were hooked. To us, they're the ideal work boot; durable, comfortable, and completely devoid of 'features.' We like the old fashioned feel of them. It's little that a few pieces of leather and a really nice sole. Perfect for our simple sensibilities.

But Red Wings also can swing the other way towards the hi-tech and they've just introduced a pair of boots, the 4216s, that utilize the Boa Closure System in lieu of laces. It's a funky set-up and it looks pretty strange. If you're a snowboarder, you're already familiar with it because it's been used in that industry for years. But now it's taken it's first foray into the world of construction. Red Wing sent us a pair to check out and because of our undying devotion to the 606s, we were pretty excited about it.

We've had the boots here for a while and we've come to our conclusions....

ArrowContinue reading: "Red Wing 4216 Work Boot with Boa Closure System - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (4) | social bookmarking

October 31, 2012

Bosch JS572EB Barrel-Grip Jig Saw - Review

Bosch_jigsaw_hero.JPG

A long time ago, probably over a year, Bosch sent us one of their JS470EB Jigsaws to check out. We used it, we used it again, and we used it some more after that. It has basically been our primary jigsaw since it showed up. But we never wrote a review of it. We kept meaning to, but whenever we were in front of the computer, we would think about the tool and say, "eh" and move on to the next thing. It was a nice tool, but there was nothing about it that made us think, "yeah, yeah, yeah, now this is a jigsaw!" It was just sort of there. We're generally fans of Bosch jigsaws, so when the company recently released a new series, we thought we'd take one of those for a spin to see if we'd have a different reaction. They sent us the new JS572EB. Oh and did we ever have a different reaction.

ArrowContinue reading: "Bosch JS572EB Barrel-Grip Jig Saw - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

October 29, 2012

Bosch DareDevil Spade Bits - Part Two

bosch_DD_spade.jpg

So during our renovation, we had to drill 30 3/4" holes through this 8-1/2" beam. It wasn't easy and it wasn't fun. It also would have been impossible if it wasn't for the Bosch DareDevil Spade bits.

ArrowContinue reading: "Bosch DareDevil Spade Bits - Part Two"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

October 3, 2012

Duo-Fast DF150-CS Cap Stapler - Review

DF_cs_hero.JPG

When we put on house wrap, it's with a hammer tacker. The process is not a particularly pleasant one, but since we've been around the business, it's always been done that way, so we ignore the fact that it's a pain, and just suck it up like everyone else does. If that's the way it's done, then that's the way it's done.

ArrowContinue reading: "Duo-Fast DF150-CS Cap Stapler - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

October 2, 2012

Uffy TH-T-CZ10 23 Gauge Pinner - Review

uffy_pinner.JPG

Couple weeks back, we reviewed a nice brad gun from Uffy. Now, we're going to turn our attention to one of their 23-gauge pinners, a tool with the roll-off-the-tongue name of TH-T-CZ10. They sent us this fella a while ago and we've been using it off and on and putting it head to head against our other pinners.

ArrowContinue reading: "Uffy TH-T-CZ10 23 Gauge Pinner - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 25, 2012

Racor Snap2It Storage System - Review

racor_hook_w_hoses.JPG

Our garage is a disaster. There's no other way to put it. It's a varsity level display of a complete organizational breakdown. Every available space is covered with something. Every unavailable space is covered with something else. Finding anything in there takes days, weeks, months. Tool Snob Jr. wandered in there three months ago and we haven't seen him since. The entropy has gotten so bad that even the local wildlife has moved out. The little family of wrens that built a nest above the window (on the inside) have taken flight, probably disgusted that their front yard looks like a Home Depot fell from an airplane only to smash to earth in the form of a 20 x 20 garage. That's actually what it looks like; that it all fell from the sky. It's that random.

ArrowContinue reading: "Racor Snap2It Storage System - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Newsletter
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Dar Gray: I live in MN 55435 - where do I find read more
Kevin: very cool makes me want to get into lath turning read more
Radeleon: I can use this in my hobby stuff. Ive been read more
chris: What saw are you trying to hook it up to? read more
cdldsl: Bought the BASIC Chippewa boots brand new a year ago. read more
Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

HomePire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy