May 1, 2013

Milwaukee M18 Fuel Hammer Drill/Driver - Review

Milwaukee_fuel_hero.JPG

We've been holding on to this review for a while. We've had the new Milwaukee M18 Fuel Hammer Drill/Driver for months and months and we kept thinking we'd find its breaking point, but no such luck. We've tried hard to bust it up, wear it down, and simply burn it out. But we can't, it's a champ. A real heavyweight. Maybe the most powerful 18 volt drill we've used. There is no stopping it.

ArrowContinue reading: "Milwaukee M18 Fuel Hammer Drill/Driver - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

April 22, 2013

Overhead Crate Storage System- Review

overheadcrate_hero2.JPG

So what to do with all of our stuff? It's a constant question here and with the garage being pulled into the big renovation, it's something we've been thinking about a lot. The shop is going to get a major overhaul and storage is the number one concern. We're definitely going to use some of those Racor Snap2It hooks (reviewed here), and there will certainly be shelves for the daily use tools, but what about everything else? If there's something we only use a few times a year, there's no point in it clogging up valuable shelf space. Well, a while back, we were contacted by Overhead Crate and it just so happens that they have the perfect solution.

ArrowContinue reading: "Overhead Crate Storage System- Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

March 10, 2013

RoboReel - Review

Roboreel_hero.JPG

Who knew we'd ever refer to an extension cord as intelligent? But oddly enough, that's the best way to describe the RoboReel. Even calling it an extension cord is a gross over simplification, it's more of a one-stop power system for your shop. Great Stuff, the makers of the Reel sent us one to check out a while back and we've had it in the mix for the renovation as well as general shop use. It's easily the most feature-riddled power cord we've ever put eyes on.

ArrowContinue reading: "RoboReel - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

February 25, 2013

Muck Chore Cool Boots - Review

muck_boots_hero.JPG

Right now my backyard looks like a meteor made entirely out of mud smashed into it. Over the past 2 months, I've had big excavators, little excavators, skid steers, concrete trucks, lumber delivery trucks, and everything else heavy and massive come through. To call it muddy is like saying Siberia is cold...it's a correct statement, but it only hints at the extreme nature of things. It's not cute, little splashy mud puddles, but rather the kind of thick muck that can trap a boot and makes walking nearly impossible because you put your foot down in one spot and by the time it's done slooshing down to solid footing, it's about two inches from where you started. It's a total mess.

So I was practically doing cartwheels when I was contacted by Muck Boots and they offered to send on a pair of their new Chore Cool Boots for me to review. Oh man, that was a good day around here. So that was about a month and a half ago and in that time, I've done all sorts of work back there in Degobah and here are my thoughts on the boots.

ArrowContinue reading: "Muck Chore Cool Boots - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

February 14, 2013

Prolong SPL100 - Review

prolong.JPG

So Prolong has a product called SPL100 which is made with something they call AMFT (Anti-Friction Metal Treatment). At first glance, it seems like a WD40 type lube, something you could spray on just about anything to make it better. The Prolong website says that it can...

lubricate, penetrate, and prevent corrosion, free sticky mechanisms, displace moisture, stop squeaks, and reduce friction and wear on all metal surfaces. It cleans and protects metal surfaces, tools or any metal equipment exposed to water or weather.

Prolong sent us a few cans and spray bottles of the stuff to try out. We've used it in a number of applications, one in particular had an interesting result.

ArrowContinue reading: "Prolong SPL100 - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

January 21, 2013

Festool DF700 Domino XL - Review

festool_dominoxl_hero.JPG

We've hit rock bottom on our own selfishness. And the thing is that we almost feel bad about it. Almost.

One of the things about reviewing tools is that you get to keep a lot of them. But trust us, the bloom falls off the rose pretty quickly there. What sounds like heaven gets cumbersome mighty fast. One new recip saw is great, but does anyone need five or six of them? A long, long time ago Festool said they would send us one of their Domino XLs to test out, but that we'd have to send it back when we were done. They gave no time limit and said that we should keep it as long as we saw fit. No problems there. A very cool attitude on their part. So we kept it...and kept it...and kept it. Every time we sat down to write the review, we'd think, "oh wait, this means that we'll have to return the tool...maybe it would be best if we ran the review next week....or maybe the week after that." So here we are months and months later (getting close on a year), slightly ashamed and feeling like we took advantage of Festool's kindness, but we're still crouching over the tool, coveting it like some hell mutant from Dante's Inferno.

ArrowContinue reading: "Festool DF700 Domino XL - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (5) | social bookmarking

January 2, 2013

Skil iXO Vivo Power Corkscrew - Review and Giveaway

skil_vino_kit.JPG

Skil has recently hit the scene with a drinking tool. The Skil power corkscrew has been available in Europe for a couple years now (see our original coverage here) and it's now available in the states. Bosch owns Skil and in Europe, green Bosch is their DIY brand (read: Skil), so in all likelihood, the two items are exactly the same. Skil sent us one to check out and we were pretty interested in it. If it has to do with wine drinking and it flew in Europe, it has to be good, right?

Right?

Turns out, maybe not so much.

ArrowContinue reading: "Skil iXO Vivo Power Corkscrew - Review and Giveaway"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (14) | social bookmarking

December 18, 2012

Arbortech TURBOPlane - Review

arbortech_turboplane_hero.JPG

We were impressed with Arbortech way, way back when we first saw their AS160 AllSaw at a tradeshow in May of 07. Then we got a chance to test some of their woodworking tools out and loved those too. The Mini Grinder and Power Chisel, still now, are tools that we feel we've only scratched the surface of their potential. Recently we were contacted by the company again, this time to take a look at their new TURBOPlane. What is the TURBOPlane you ask? Read on...

ArrowContinue reading: "Arbortech TURBOPlane - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

December 6, 2012

The Right Brush - Review

right_brush_hero.JPG

The paint brush. A timeless tool that has remained unchanged since the days of cave painting when some thick-headed caveman first wrapped the hairs from an ox tail around the end of a stick*. What is there to improve upon with a tool this basic? There's the part you hold and then there's the part that paints. On the simplicity/genius scale, it's right there along with the wheel.

So we were a little shocked when we got a glimpse of The Right Brush. What is this? A paint brush with a pistol grip? Oh, the scandal! But, faced with painting our entire house (every single room.....four walls and the ceiling....entire trim package), we happily agreed to test out the item. If The Right Brush could take even a sliver of pain away from the mind-numbing, spirit-crushing, hand-cramping, neck-aching, arm-hurting, paint-drip-frustrating, soul-destroying act of painting, then we would love the tool until the end of days.

So they sent us one. How did it do, you ask?

ArrowContinue reading: "The Right Brush - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

December 4, 2012

Red Wing 4216 Work Boot with Boa Closure System - Review

Red_Wing_boa.JPG

UPDATE: We realized that we failed to mention the most impressive thing about the Boa and that is the fact that the 'laces' never loosen. We really like our boots to fit snug around our ankles and these deliver the good all day long.

***

As soon as we put on our first pair of Red Wing 606s, we were hooked. To us, they're the ideal work boot; durable, comfortable, and completely devoid of 'features.' We like the old fashioned feel of them. It's little that a few pieces of leather and a really nice sole. Perfect for our simple sensibilities.

But Red Wings also can swing the other way towards the hi-tech and they've just introduced a pair of boots, the 4216s, that utilize the Boa Closure System in lieu of laces. It's a funky set-up and it looks pretty strange. If you're a snowboarder, you're already familiar with it because it's been used in that industry for years. But now it's taken it's first foray into the world of construction. Red Wing sent us a pair to check out and because of our undying devotion to the 606s, we were pretty excited about it.

We've had the boots here for a while and we've come to our conclusions....

ArrowContinue reading: "Red Wing 4216 Work Boot with Boa Closure System - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (4) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Newsletter
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
larrycura: And the feature on their website I like most is read more
william Freck: Gentlemen: When i purchased my Zip-Nip i also received a read more
Screamer: I left mine plugged into the wall and it turned read more
Charlie: Cool! This fills a nice niche for DIY'ers who need read more
chris wyse: I have the sawhelper ultafence and was just cleaning out read more
Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

HomePire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy