June 21, 2013

GO-2 Socket - Review

go2_hero.JPG

Sockets are essential, but the process of keeping an organized and complete set is nearly impossible. All it takes is one fall off a table and three pieces are never seen again. The GO-2 Socket is a one-size fits all (well....most all) socket head that is made to cover all of the sizes from 3/8 to 3/4 SAE as well as 10-20mm. The makers of the tool recently sent us a sample to check out. We worked it over pretty good and this is what we have to say about it.

ArrowContinue reading: "GO-2 Socket - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

June 20, 2013

Ridgid 100-Watt Power Inverter - Review

ridgid_inverter.JPG

Construction happens fast these days. Communications between client, contractor, designer, subs, and architect go back and forth like a bouncy ball in a shoebox. Part of this is due to the 'cover your ass' mentality that relies on email for the digital paper trail. Another part is that people no longer seem interested in the more efficient method of, well, just picking up a phone. I used to work with a project manager who would literally send hundreds of emails each day. Most of them just asking a single follow-up question to a previous email. Fella, just pick up the phone and it will be all over in about 3 minutes. But anyway, my point is that even crusty construction workers need constant access to a laptop, smartphone, or tablet, and for them, there's the Ridgid 100-Watt Power Inverter.

ArrowContinue reading: "Ridgid 100-Watt Power Inverter - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

June 19, 2013

Klein MM5000 Electrician's TRMS Multimeter - Review

klein_mm_hero.JPG

I had a boss once who would refer to his multimeter as "the amazing tool that has a thousand uses, of which we know only two." That sentiment pretty much defines my relationship with the multimeter. I can do a little wiring, but I'm no electrician. I know how to use a multimeter to check voltage and current, but that's about it. Still though, they have that cool tri-corder vibe and if you bust one out in front of a client, it makes you look really intelligent (Oh my, he knows how to use that...he must be good!), so I'm all in favor of them, even if their true capabilities are way, way beyond my simple brain.

Klein has just released two new models and they dropped one of the MM5000 in the mail for us to check out. The MM5000 is certainly impressive looking, even if a large portion of its functionality remains a total mystery.

ArrowContinue reading: "Klein MM5000 Electrician's TRMS Multimeter - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

May 27, 2013

Skil MAG77LT 15-Amp Magnesium Worm Drive - Review

skil_mag77lt_hero.JPG

Circular saws generally come in two flavors; sidewinders and worm drives. Sidewinders are what you generally associate with the tool. They're the classic, small-bodied saws with the direct drive motors. Worm drives are quite a bit larger and heavier because they're geared down, exchanging some of that motor speed for more torque.

Over the years I've slowly evolved into a worm drive person. Even though they're heavier than sidewinders, I like them for their never-ending strength and solid handling. Years ago, they were predominantly a west coast thing, but I've been seeing more and more of them here on the east coast. Now with the magical interweb being able to ship whatever where ever, the two saw styles are in the process of fully mingling.

ArrowContinue reading: "Skil MAG77LT 15-Amp Magnesium Worm Drive - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (5) | social bookmarking

May 15, 2013

Gojo Hand Medic - Review

gojo_handmedic1.JPG

For the most part my hands look like they belong on someone who is 150 years old. They're usually scratched, cracking, freakishly dry and the cuticles are nothing more than shredded scraps of dead skin. Moisturizing isn't really in my daily program, so my hands tend to stay in disaster format. I'm also in the process of tiling 500 square feet of finished basement, so with all the thinset and water, things have even gotten worse. My hands look almost mummified. A couple weeks ago, Gojo sent us some of their Hand Medic to try out and we tasked it against our nearly destroyed hands. Here's what we thought.

ArrowContinue reading: "Gojo Hand Medic - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

May 14, 2013

Wagner Smart Power Roller System - Review

wagner_power_roller_hero.JPG

If you've ever been to this site before, you know my thoughts on the act of painting. I truly loathe it. Of all the different things I've done in the construction world, it's by far the worst. I'd rather put on a roof in the middle of August than paint a single ceiling. The only way I can really deal with painting is if I paint angry. I put on Funhouse and Raw Power and turn the volume way up. If I didn't do that to get all fired up, I'd pass out from the drudgery and boredom of it all.

So months and months ago, Wagner contacted us and asked if we wanted to check out their Smart Roller System. Since my recently gutted house hardly had any paint on the walls and with the addition was coming along nicely, I said "yes, I have the perfect testing ground." So they sent it. But then I ended up changing my work schedule all around and the roller system sat in a box by my desk for a seriously long time (sorry Wagner and thanks for the patience). But things finally progressed to the point of painting, so last weekend, I spent about 15 hours with the Roller Max in my hand and, oh boy, it's a doozie.

ArrowContinue reading: "Wagner Smart Power Roller System - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

May 1, 2013

Milwaukee M18 Fuel Hammer Drill/Driver - Review

Milwaukee_fuel_hero.JPG

We've been holding on to this review for a while. We've had the new Milwaukee M18 Fuel Hammer Drill/Driver for months and months and we kept thinking we'd find its breaking point, but no such luck. We've tried hard to bust it up, wear it down, and simply burn it out. But we can't, it's a champ. A real heavyweight. Maybe the most powerful 18 volt drill we've used. There is no stopping it.

ArrowContinue reading: "Milwaukee M18 Fuel Hammer Drill/Driver - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

April 22, 2013

Overhead Crate Storage System- Review

overheadcrate_hero2.JPG

So what to do with all of our stuff? It's a constant question here and with the garage being pulled into the big renovation, it's something we've been thinking about a lot. The shop is going to get a major overhaul and storage is the number one concern. We're definitely going to use some of those Racor Snap2It hooks (reviewed here), and there will certainly be shelves for the daily use tools, but what about everything else? If there's something we only use a few times a year, there's no point in it clogging up valuable shelf space. Well, a while back, we were contacted by Overhead Crate and it just so happens that they have the perfect solution.

ArrowContinue reading: "Overhead Crate Storage System- Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

March 10, 2013

RoboReel - Review

Roboreel_hero.JPG

Who knew we'd ever refer to an extension cord as intelligent? But oddly enough, that's the best way to describe the RoboReel. Even calling it an extension cord is a gross over simplification, it's more of a one-stop power system for your shop. Great Stuff, the makers of the Reel sent us one to check out a while back and we've had it in the mix for the renovation as well as general shop use. It's easily the most feature-riddled power cord we've ever put eyes on.

ArrowContinue reading: "RoboReel - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

February 25, 2013

Muck Chore Cool Boots - Review

muck_boots_hero.JPG

Right now my backyard looks like a meteor made entirely out of mud smashed into it. Over the past 2 months, I've had big excavators, little excavators, skid steers, concrete trucks, lumber delivery trucks, and everything else heavy and massive come through. To call it muddy is like saying Siberia is cold...it's a correct statement, but it only hints at the extreme nature of things. It's not cute, little splashy mud puddles, but rather the kind of thick muck that can trap a boot and makes walking nearly impossible because you put your foot down in one spot and by the time it's done slooshing down to solid footing, it's about two inches from where you started. It's a total mess.

So I was practically doing cartwheels when I was contacted by Muck Boots and they offered to send on a pair of their new Chore Cool Boots for me to review. Oh man, that was a good day around here. So that was about a month and a half ago and in that time, I've done all sorts of work back there in Degobah and here are my thoughts on the boots.

ArrowContinue reading: "Muck Chore Cool Boots - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Newsletter
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Bob: Most large companies have enough patents granted to them that read more
Tool Snob: Oh yeah, those do look pretty similar. One cool thing read more
R: I got something similar from Garrett Wade years ago that read more
silk comforters: Good tools. read more
bob: Finding no solution to diamond cutter loosining every time read more
Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

HomePire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy