July 11, 2007

Wagner PaintEater - Review

painteater1.jpgWe're pretty vocal about our dislike (hatred, really) of painting. We're happy to spend 10 hours shaping a piece of wood, but for some reason we don't have the patience to paint it. And if painting isn't bad enough, there's scraping to think about. If painting is like getting your fingernail pulled off, scraping is like being drawn and quartered. So when we heard about Wagner's new PaintEater, we dove at the opportunity to test one out and see if it makes the unbearable at least somewhat bearable.

First, about the tool. The PaintEater is about the size of a coffee can. It's got an adjustable Velcro hand strap around the main grip as well as a secondary handle that can retract back up to the body of the tool when not in use. The handle, when in the down or up position, locks in place preventing any slipping or unexpected movement. The on-off switch has a nice dust protected cover over it and is located in a convenient spot. At the bottom of the tool is the brillo-like pad that does the actual paint eating. The pad is a bit hard to describe, it reminds us more of a sea creature than anything else. It's much more rigid than a brillo, but there is a bit of a give to it. The disc can be easily removed with an arbor stop and a twist of the pad. The tool is pretty light (3.8 lbs), so there should be no problem spending a day on a ladder with it.

ArrowContinue reading: "Wagner PaintEater - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (8) | social bookmarking

July 10, 2007

Ridgid Lithium-Ion 18-Volt Compact Drill - Review

drill_top.jpgBecause Lithium Ion batteries are so much lighter and more powerful than standard batteries, tool companies have a lot more leeway as far as design is concerned. The problem is that most of them are still intoxicated by the technology, focusing on creating the "lightest ever" or the "most powerful ever" tools. The small little screwdriver-style drills are handy and the 36-volt tools are total overkill, but what about that middle range? What about having a nice, reliable, no-frills, 18 Volt drill? If you feel the same way, look no further than Ridgid's new 18-Volt Compact Li-Ion Drill.

The drill is very light, 4.5 lbs. to be exact. It's interesting, but when compared directly to the Makita 14.4, which is about 4.6 lbs, the Ridgid feels much lighter. We figure that this has something to do with the fact that two thirds of the weight is no longer in the battery and the balance is much more even. The Ridgid feels solid in the hands and once we put it to work, we were not let down at all.

ArrowContinue reading: "Ridgid Lithium-Ion 18-Volt Compact Drill - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (24) | social bookmarking

June 27, 2007

C.H. Hanson Pivot Square - Review

closed.jpgC.H. Hanson, a company known for their high-quality layout and marking tools, has begun rolling out a new line of innovative tools they call the Signature Series. Kicking off this collection is their new Pivot Square, an all-in-one roof and stair layout tool.

At first glance, the Pivot Square looks like a traditional measuring square with a few level vials built-in. But upon closer inspection there are plenty of differences. First, it's larger, with the sides measuring 8" as opposed to 7". Secondly, and more significantly, there is a portion of the square that pivots out and can be locked in position, much like a bevel gauge. But, unlike a $4.99 bevel gauge, the pivot square tells you the degree as well as the roof pitch of the captured angle. Also, the hypotenuse has a ruler on it, as opposed to a degree finder.

ArrowContinue reading: "C.H. Hanson Pivot Square - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

June 19, 2007

Home Depot Tape Measure Gift Cards – Review

home_depot-Gift.jpgIn the race to provide the most over-the-top gift card (Best Buy apparently has one that plays videos), Home Depot now offers one with a built-in level and tape measure. Yep, built right into the gift card. It sounds strange, we know, but it’s actually pretty cool.

They were good enough to send us one to look at and to be honest, we were expecting something pretty cheesy. But when it got here, we have to admit to being impressed with the little thing. We’re not saying that it’s going to be replacing your Stanley Fat Max tape measure, but it will definitely find its way into your kitchen junk drawer and come in handy at some point when you’re trying to hang a picture.

ArrowContinue reading: "Home Depot Tape Measure Gift Cards – Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

May 31, 2007

Husky 45-Piece Stubby Set - Review

stubby_set.jpgHusky has recently come out with a 45-piece set of little truncated tools, lovingly named the Stubby Set. They were nice enough to send us one and it didn’t take long before we realized that, although it‘s small and has a humiliating name, it’s a really great collection of useful tools.

The contents of the Stubby Set include a ratcheting screwdriver, a dual-drive ratchet (able to accept 1/4” sockets on one side and 3/8” sockets on the other) and an adjustable wrench. For accessories and bits, the Stubby Set comes with:

  • 10 driver bits
  • 13 SAE sockets (5/32” to 3/4”)
  • 14 metric sockets (4mm to 17)
  • Adapter for using the 3/8” ratchet with 1/4" sockets
  • Extension bar
  • Adapter for using the 1/4" sockets with the screwdriver
ArrowContinue reading: "Husky 45-Piece Stubby Set - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (7) | social bookmarking

May 30, 2007

Ryobi HT230 229-Piece Rotary Tool Kit - Review

set.jpg
Rotary tools are on the rise and we couldn’t be happier about it. We’ve been using them for a while now and are constantly blown away by how versatile they are. Depending on the bit, you can sand, grind, drill, cut, and polish, and they are capable of handling wood, metal, and just about every other material under the sun. To do good work, you have to be detail-oriented, and rotary tools are just the thing for that last pass on a job to make every last detail perfect. Cut-out tools, like the Roto-Zip, are extremely handy and useful, but to deal with projects that need more finesse than power, you need one of the little hand-held models. And Ryobi has just entered the fray with their 229-Piece Rotary Tool Kit.

Just opening the box, we were stunned. We’d seen the picture, but seeing it in person is still impressive. Ryobi has crammed 229 pieces into a medium-sized plastic case. Everything is laid out in an easy to see way and bits and attachments are grouped with like items, making the case itself is a feat of spatial engineering.

ArrowContinue reading: "Ryobi HT230 229-Piece Rotary Tool Kit - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (4) | social bookmarking

May 28, 2007

Husky Heavy-Duty X-Sawhorse - Review

xbench_1.jpgOur pals at Husky recently sent us one of their Heavy-Duty X-Sawhorses to check out. It’s a small, portable, lightweight, collapsible table that is good for a variety of tasks, not the least of which was being the MVP of our Memorial Day cookout.

The sawhorse unfolds from a central pivot and, when set-up, looks like a giant X. There is a little top that sets into it creating a table. When folded up, the top piece easily snaps onto the center bar, creating a something that is very easy to store, measuring only 31” square by 3” thick.

ArrowContinue reading: "Husky Heavy-Duty X-Sawhorse - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

May 23, 2007

Porter-Cable 371K Compact Belt Sander - Review

371k_1.jpgWe were pretty intrigued when we first heard about Porter-Cable's 371K Compact Belt Sander. Could it be true that we could have the power of a belt sander but with the size of an orbital? Does this mean no more aching arms after stints of operating our large, way-too-powerful belt sander? Well, that's the intent behind the 371K, but the question is, did Porter-Cable succeed?

The 371K is certainly compact, weighing in at around the 5 lb mark. Considering that Porter-Cable's two larger belt sanders weigh 10 lbs and 14 lbs, the 371K is a huge advancement in this area. Because of its small dimensions, the 371K does not have any traditional handle to speak of, only a removable front pommel and a padded area that wraps around the sides and top for gripping. This style of handle (non-handle, really) makes it very easy to switch around your grip on the tool, and, because of the likelihood that it's going to be used in some tight spaces, this becomes an innovative and essential feature.

ArrowContinue reading: "Porter-Cable 371K Compact Belt Sander - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

May 22, 2007

The Quick Angle – Review

quick_angle_2.jpgIt’s hard to summarize the Quick Angle in just a couple of words. We’ve thought about it and the best we can do is to describe it as the Swiss Army Knife of the measuring world. We first saw the tool at last year’s JLC show and then again at this year’s show and both times we were impressed with, not only its versatility, but also the amount of thought that must have gone into its design. It's part bevel gauge, part measuring square, part compass, and part Stephen Hawking.

The tool is a little larger than your standard bevel gauge and folds out with a third, central arm, which is where all the mathematical magic takes place. Each side of the arm is loaded with numbers and lines that may or may not come into play depending on which of the million and one functions you’re currently using the tool for. The arm also has a little mechanism that allows you lock the angle in place, so there are no worries of things shifting while you’re getting down off that ladder.

The Quick Angle can (are you ready for this?):

ArrowContinue reading: "The Quick Angle – Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 30, 2007

Ridgid 3-1/2” Round Head Framing Nailer - Review

Ridgid_framer.jpgWe’ve been pretty impressed with Ridgid these days. Their recent release of the Fuego 6-1/2” Framing Saw busted open a whole new class of tools by combining well thought out features with a compact and lightweight design. Their 3-1/2” Round Head Framing Nailer also has a number of great features and although it isn’t as revolutionary as the Fuego, it’s a great addition to the current flock of framers and one that is definitely worth taking a look at.

When we took the gun out of the box we immediately noticed a few things. First, the balance of the tool is fantastic. Our experience is that most framing guns have about 80% of their weight in the head, so the tool wants to constantly tumble forward. But Ridgid’s gun evens out that ratio to more in the 60/40 range, probably due to the magnesium housing. The gun weighs over 8lbs, and there are lighter guns out there, but this one feels right in the hands and once we got to using it, we had no fatigue issues.

ArrowContinue reading: "Ridgid 3-1/2” Round Head Framing Nailer - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Newsletter
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Al in SoCal: Can you give me what model I should get my read more
Jinxy37: over 6 years of hard use, I havent even seen read more
Cody: I loved this drill, it got lost in the move read more
Michael: An extension ladder is the only piece missing from my read more
Tool Snob: Right. Well at least they aren't forced to solve a read more
Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

HomePire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy