November 16, 2007

C.H. Hanson Slide Square - Review

slidesquare.jpgApparently, attempting to redefine layout tools with the Pivot Square wasn't enough for C.H. Hanson. The frantically innovative tool company has just released the Slide Square, a tool that may just replace the measuring square as the back pocket tool of choice for contractors.

From what we can tell, just about everything that your measuring square can do, the Slide Square can do. And on top of that there are a few tricks that the Slide Square has that can't be done with a measuring square.

ArrowContinue reading: "C.H. Hanson Slide Square - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 15, 2007

Skil 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill/Driver - Review

Skil_18.jpgSkil has recently gotten into the lithium-ion race with their nice 7-volt Power Wrench and now they're getting into some higher voltage with their new 18-Volt Lithium Cordless Drill/Driver.

Although it's fairly stripped down, the drill/driver comes equipped with some nice features. It's got a little light, located at the bottom of the handle that shines on the tip of the tool, brightening up the work piece. Right next to it is a three light indicator system that displays the charge left in the battery. The drill also has a 15 position clutch and a little forward/reverse indicator light.

ArrowContinue reading: "Skil 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless Drill/Driver - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 4, 2007

Skil 7.2-Volt Lithium-Ion Power Wrench - Review

Skil_wrench_1.jpgNow with just about every major tool company trying to convert every single power tool into a cordless version, there are bound to be some duds. Some tools just won't be able to make the conversion, due to who knows what. So every time a new tool comes out, we cringe a little bit, wondering if it will be the first big disaster. With this in mind, we were curious about Skil's new Power Wrench. Would it be possible to make a battery operated ratchet tool? Skil was nice enough to let us try one out, so we're happy to say we have an answer to that question.

skil_wrench_charger.jpgFirst, some general info on the tool. The Skil Power Wrench has a nice ergonomic handle, complete with little finger ridges. The trigger is right there and is no problem to get to and easy to keep depressed. Like a traditional ratchet, the forward/reverse toggle is located at the rear of the head, and operated just like you expect it to.

The tool is light, weighing just under two pounds. The weight is nicely distributed through the tool, so it's an easy 2 lbs to deal with, making the wrench feel solid and very natural in the hands. The tool operates on an internal lithium-ion battery, and the entire unit plugs into the charger stand, which can sit on any flat surface or be mounted to the wall.

ArrowContinue reading: "Skil 7.2-Volt Lithium-Ion Power Wrench - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (16) | social bookmarking

October 26, 2007

Dremel Duo (Stylus & Driver) - Review

dremel_duo1.jpgDremel has just released a new lithium-ion powered screwdriver, the Dremel Driver, and they've bundled it with their Dremel Stylus, which has been out since 2006. We were curious to see how Dremel was going to handle the whole lightweight lithium-ion screwdriver thing and we jumped at the chance to test out the little guy and as a bonus, we got our hands on the Stylus as well.

The Dremel Driver and Stylus come nicely packaged together, but are also available as stand alones (more on that later). They come with a stand/charger that fits both tools, charging one at a time. There is also a nice little compartmentalized case for your rotary bits and driver bits as well as an expansion piece for the stand that clicks onto the side and provides a space to store your bits for easy access. This last piece isn't pictured, as we lost it somewhere along the way during our test phase. We're pretty sure it's in the truck somewhere.

dremel_duo_box.jpg

The system has no removable battery to charge. Instead the entire unit clicks into the stand and it does its charging there. This situation presents no bench top space issues, seeing as both of these tools combined are hardly any bigger than the standard 18-volt battery and won't be taking up much space at all.

ArrowContinue reading: "Dremel Duo (Stylus & Driver) - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

October 3, 2007

Husky 84-Watt Portable Tripod Fluorescent Work Light - Review

light_compact.jpgHusky has just released a new tripod work light and they were nice enough to let us try out. It's an interesting design, and one we've never seen before.

The light comes folded up, looking sort of like a camera tripod with a very large central shaft. At the end of the shaft is a small light. Once the legs of the tripod are set up, the shaft stands upright with the light on top. When you plug in the light (which is made easy by a nice 12' cord), the light on the top lights up (it's blue). Now, here's where it gets interesting. At this point, you find a little locking tab that you press and once that's done, you can now grab the little blue light and pull the main light out of the central shaft, where it's been nicely protected. Once the light slides up to as high as it will go, it locks into place and automatically turns on. This, we weren't ready for.

ArrowContinue reading: "Husky 84-Watt Portable Tripod Fluorescent Work Light - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (16) | social bookmarking

October 2, 2007

Cadex CPB23.50 23 Gauge Pinner and Brad Nailer - Review

cadexcpb23_50.jpgPin nailers have been around for a bit, but only in the past few years have they started filtering down into the hands of the non-specialist and the day-to-day carpenters. They're little guns (smaller than a brad gun) and they shoot very small pins that don't even have any heads. Because of the size of the fastener, the guns are ideal for some very delicate operations. At the moment, most of the major pneumatic brands have pinners available. We had read good things about the Cadex CPB23.50, but weren't ready for just how nice of a tool it is.

Awhile back, we reviewed Grizzly's H5527 Brad Gun and gave it some high marks for being a solid no-frills gun at an affordable price ($25), well now we're on the other end of the spectrum; with Cadex's new gun they've created a perfectly tuned, versatile nail gun that manages to raise the bar on all pin nailers.

cadex_blower.jpgcadex_tool_storage.jpg

First, the stats. The Cadex CPB23.50 shoots both 23 gauge headless pins and 23 gauge slight headed pins (an unusual feature in pinners – most just shoot headless). It can handle lengths from 5/8" up to 2" (another unusual feature). The gun comes with two no-mar tips that easily fit onto the nose of the gun as well as a small container of gun oil and three different hex wrenches that fit the various fittings on the tool. There is a dry fire lock-out feature and a nice little viewing window to see how many pins are in the gun. It's got a built-in belt hook, a swivel coupling, and a little thumb operated blow gun that you can use to clear your work piece of dust and debris. The whole package comes in at just a hair over 2-1/2 lbs.

ArrowContinue reading: "Cadex CPB23.50 23 Gauge Pinner and Brad Nailer - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 27, 2007

Husky 2-In-1 Ultra-Thin Combination Knife - Review

combo_knife.jpgHusky, the makers of solid, innovative hand tools, have recently released their 2-In-1 Ultra-Thin Combination Knife. The Combo Knife has a fully-retractable standard razor blade as well as a folding drop point knife, both stowed away in a package that's about 4-3/4" by 1-3/4".

Both of the blades extend out of the same end of the tool making for safe and easy usage. The razor blade is extended with a sliding thumb tab, similar to any standard utility knife, and the drop point blade extends with a flick of a little nub that's on the blade itself, also like many standard flip knives. The folding blade has a nice locking mechanism so it won't flip back and close over your knuckles.

ArrowContinue reading: "Husky 2-In-1 Ultra-Thin Combination Knife - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

September 5, 2007

C.H. Hanson SuperPencil - Review

pencil.jpg
C.H. Hanson continues their Signature Series with the new Superpencil, a pencil so blatantly powerful that other pencils warp when it comes near. What it is is a regular looking carpenter's pencil that is made entirely of a graphite composite. The result is a pencil that has a ridiculously long life and always has a variety of edges to choose from.

C.H. Hanson says that the SuperPencil lasts seven times as long as a normal pencil. From our experience with it, this might be a low number. As they advertise, you really don't have to sharpen it because, somewhere, there is always an edge. Sure, we had to get a bit creative from time to time and hold the pencil at an odd angle, but still, it's impressive. With rough framing, we opted to just use one of the thick edges, but as things got to finish work, we went ahead and sharpened it to a point and used that.

ArrowContinue reading: "C.H. Hanson SuperPencil - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 20, 2007

Dremel 75th Anniversary Rotary Tool Kit - Review

kit.jpgJust about everyone agrees that Dremel is the king of the rotary tool, but did you know that they've been at it since 1932? Way back then, they released an electric razor blade sharpener and soon after introduced the Moto-Tool, their first rotary tool. Since then, it's been one success after another and now they have decided to mark their 75th anniversary with a limited-edition commemorative tool kit. Needless to say, we were pretty thrilled when they kindly let us test one out.

The tool comes in a metal case with the commemorative Dremel logo imprinted on the lid. Although it's a bit impractical for throwing in the back of the truck and heading off to the jobsite, the case is very cool and fits the limited-edition nature of the kit. The tool itself also has a retro look and feel with a number of chrome accents, including the collet, brush caps, on/off/speed switch as well as a chrome version of Dremel's old-school logo printed on the side. The set comes with, you guessed it, 75 accessories. The accessories cover the basics of the rotary tool world; there are sanding bands, polishing wheels, cut-off wheels, steel brushes, grinding stones, and even a small container of polishing compound. It's a solid starter set, with just enough of everything to get you interested and wanting more.

ArrowContinue reading: "Dremel 75th Anniversary Rotary Tool Kit - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 15, 2007

Grizzly H5527 Brad Nailer – Review

brad-gun.jpgWhen we read that Grizzly was selling a brad gun for $25, we were pretty suspicious of it's quality. A brad gun is at least an $80 purchase, right? Would this Grizzly gun work? Would it constantly jam? Would it not have the strength to put a nail into a piece of wood, and if it did would the nail go in at some freaky angle? All these questions were in our head when the nice folks at Grizzly agreed to send us one to test out. And test out we did.

As far as the gun goes, it's a no frills machine, which we like actually. We can get frustrated with tools that have too many moving parts, too many dials, micro-adjusts for this and that, a lot of which aren't even necessary. For features, Grizzly's H5527 can boast only one: an adjustable exhaust. For some reason we had thought, and had written earlier, that there was an adjustable depth of drive setting, but we were wrong. This is about as stripped down as a brad nailer can get.

ArrowContinue reading: "Grizzly H5527 Brad Nailer – Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Newsletter
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
bob: Finding no solution to diamond cutter loosining every time read more
Dar Gray: I live in MN 55435 - where do I find read more
Kevin: very cool makes me want to get into lath turning read more
Radeleon: I can use this in my hobby stuff. Ive been read more
chris: What saw are you trying to hook it up to? read more
Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

HomePire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy