July 15, 2008

C.H. Hanson Flip Knife - Review

flip_knife_in_hand.jpgIn our work day, probably the most important tool to us is the utility knife. Throughout each day, the knife serves as pencil sharpener, rope cutter, box opener, wood shaver, and everything else you can imagine. No joke the tool is in our hands about 20 to 50 times each day. This is why we were so interested when we heard that C.H. Hanson has just released something called the Flip Knife. The concept here is simple; a utility knife with a blade at each end.

ArrowContinue reading: "C.H. Hanson Flip Knife - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

July 14, 2008

Final Cut Saw Blade - Review

final_cut.jpgWe weren't really sure what to make of the Final Cut Saw Blade when we first heard of it. The whole idea seemed...well...incredibly silly. Is someone really selling a saw blade with a piece of sandpaper stuck on it? It screamed 'gimmick' to us, but we were still interested to check it out because maybe, like chocolate and peanut butter, the saw blade/sandpaper combo is is a match of destiny. So we got our hands on one and used it around the shop for a while and the verdict is....

ArrowContinue reading: "Final Cut Saw Blade - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (5) | social bookmarking

July 8, 2008

Campbell Hausfeld Air Tools - Review

Campbell_hausfeld_air_tools.jpgThis month Campbell Hausfeld, one of the most well respected names in the pneumatic world, is releasing a number of air tools to be sold exclusively at Home Depot. The tools come complete with storage cases and accessories. We had the opportunity to check out a few, so we gave them a good beating and here's what we thought.

In total, the series includes five tools; an impact wrench, an air ratchet, an air hammer, an air die grinder, and a cut-off tool. We tested the wrench, the ratchet, and the hammer.

ArrowContinue reading: "Campbell Hausfeld Air Tools - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 27, 2008

Duo-Fast 903000 Cordless 20 Degree Framing Nailer - Review

duofast_in_case.jpgWe were a little worried about testing out this tool. Up until now, we had only used one cordless nailer and it was quite a long time ago. Not only was the gun bulky (and smelly), but it kept running out of fuel and the battery couldn't keep a charge. But we thought that maybe the technology has been refined over the past handful of years so we cleared the slate and gave the new Duo-Fast Cordless Framing Nailer a fair shake.

ArrowContinue reading: "Duo-Fast 903000 Cordless 20 Degree Framing Nailer - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 16, 2008

Skil Power Cutter - Review

skil_cutter_side.jpgSkil has definitely shown themselves to be interested in innovation. We loved last year's Power Wrench and we're looking forward to the benchtop tools they're releasing this September. In the meantime, they've slipped out the Power Cutter. It's a light-duty cutter powered by an 3.6 volt internal lithium-ion battery.

The Skil Cutter isn't the most aggressive tool you'll ever hold in your hand and it's not supposed to be. It's meant for small tasks. The packaging says that it can cut selected materials up to 1/4" thick. The list includes leather, wallpaper, cardboard, and carpet.

ArrowContinue reading: "Skil Power Cutter - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

May 28, 2008

Paslode T250A 16 Gauge Angled Finish Nailer - Review

Paslode_finish.jpgPaslode has always been on the edge of air gun advancements, so it's no shocker that they're one of the first companies to release a 16 gauge angled finish nailer. Combining the smaller sized nails with the compact "fit anywhere" principals of the angled magazine, they've produced a gun that is, well, small. Very small. But is it powerful? Who cares how compact a gun is if it can't shoot a nail into mahogany? We've been testing out this gun for a few weeks now, and here's what we thought.

At first we were a bit surprised at how much plastic is on the gun. The entire nail magazine is plastic and a good portion of the handle as well. This serves to make the gun lighter and, as we found with a few test drops, the plastic is quite durable. There is also a metal bar that runs along the front edge of the cartridge for added strength.

ArrowContinue reading: "Paslode T250A 16 Gauge Angled Finish Nailer - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

May 12, 2008

Artillery Pry Bar System - Review

Artillery_case.jpgWe first met Joe Skach a couple years ago at a JLC Trade Show. Back then, he was displaying his Artillery Pry Bar System with such enthusiasm and glee that it was hard not to like the guy and be curious about the tool. At the time, the Joe was still working out the details for manufacturing and distributing the tool, so he didn't have any for sale. Now, well over a year later, he's finally gotten all the kinks worked out and the tool is available. We got the opportunity to try one out and for the past month we have abused the hell out of the thing. We have to say that not only is it by far the finest demolition tool we've ever used, it very well may be the coolest thing we have ever put our hands on.

ArrowContinue reading: "Artillery Pry Bar System - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

April 28, 2008

TKTool 18-Volt Drill - Review

tktool_18v.jpgA couple weeks ago we reviewed TKTool's new pocket driver, and we found it to be an inexpensive and effective little tool. Well, Tool King was nice enough to also let us test out their new 18-Volt Drill and here's what we found.

The drill has some cool features on it. It has a 23-position clutch, two speeds, a little level, and two bit holders (one on each side of the level).

ArrowContinue reading: "TKTool 18-Volt Drill - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 16, 2008

C.H. Hanson Chalk Hog - Review

hanson_chalk_hog.jpgHow much can you really say about a chalk line? Before today, we thought the answer was, "not much." But, after using C.H. Hanson's Chalk Hog for a while, we found that, with any finely-crafted tool, we can just keep talking and talking and talking...

The Chalk Hog is part of C.H. Hanson's ongoing Signature Series which kicked off last year with the release of the freakishly cool Pivot Square, and like that tool, the Hog is an innovative take on an old standard.

ArrowContinue reading: "C.H. Hanson Chalk Hog - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (6) | social bookmarking

April 8, 2008

TK Tool 4.8-Volt Screwdriver - Review

tktool_screwdriver.jpgTool King is one of our favorite online tool retailers. They're fast, the price is competitive and they're always offering some sweet rebate that we can't resist. For the most part, they deal exclusively in contractor-grade tools. You go to their store looking for Bosch, DeWalt, Festool, Hitachi, and Jet. But, recently, they've stuck their toe into the light-duty arena with the release of their very own line of tools. TKTools was launched last month and they were nice enough to send us some samples to check out. Here, we're reviewing their little 4.8V Screwdriver, and at some point soon, we're going to look at their 18-volt drill.

ArrowContinue reading: "TK Tool 4.8-Volt Screwdriver - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Newsletter
Enter your Email

Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Kevin: classic, we had mac chainsaw in my house growing up read more
John Stone : When are they going to make a cordless pin nailer? read more
Tanvir: We would like to buy 40-0912 self leveling cross-line laser read more
Jennie McBride: I have been trying to find a Scribe holder for read more
Tomonthebeach: The Rigid is powerful and large, but even the most read more
Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!


This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
All items Copyright © 1999-2015 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy