July 8, 2008

Campbell Hausfeld Air Tools - Review

Campbell_hausfeld_air_tools.jpgThis month Campbell Hausfeld, one of the most well respected names in the pneumatic world, is releasing a number of air tools to be sold exclusively at Home Depot. The tools come complete with storage cases and accessories. We had the opportunity to check out a few, so we gave them a good beating and here's what we thought.

In total, the series includes five tools; an impact wrench, an air ratchet, an air hammer, an air die grinder, and a cut-off tool. We tested the wrench, the ratchet, and the hammer.

ArrowContinue reading: "Campbell Hausfeld Air Tools - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 27, 2008

Duo-Fast 903000 Cordless 20 Degree Framing Nailer - Review

duofast_in_case.jpgWe were a little worried about testing out this tool. Up until now, we had only used one cordless nailer and it was quite a long time ago. Not only was the gun bulky (and smelly), but it kept running out of fuel and the battery couldn't keep a charge. But we thought that maybe the technology has been refined over the past handful of years so we cleared the slate and gave the new Duo-Fast Cordless Framing Nailer a fair shake.

ArrowContinue reading: "Duo-Fast 903000 Cordless 20 Degree Framing Nailer - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 16, 2008

Skil Power Cutter - Review

skil_cutter_side.jpgSkil has definitely shown themselves to be interested in innovation. We loved last year's Power Wrench and we're looking forward to the benchtop tools they're releasing this September. In the meantime, they've slipped out the Power Cutter. It's a light-duty cutter powered by an 3.6 volt internal lithium-ion battery.

The Skil Cutter isn't the most aggressive tool you'll ever hold in your hand and it's not supposed to be. It's meant for small tasks. The packaging says that it can cut selected materials up to 1/4" thick. The list includes leather, wallpaper, cardboard, and carpet.

ArrowContinue reading: "Skil Power Cutter - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

May 28, 2008

Paslode T250A 16 Gauge Angled Finish Nailer - Review

Paslode_finish.jpgPaslode has always been on the edge of air gun advancements, so it's no shocker that they're one of the first companies to release a 16 gauge angled finish nailer. Combining the smaller sized nails with the compact "fit anywhere" principals of the angled magazine, they've produced a gun that is, well, small. Very small. But is it powerful? Who cares how compact a gun is if it can't shoot a nail into mahogany? We've been testing out this gun for a few weeks now, and here's what we thought.

At first we were a bit surprised at how much plastic is on the gun. The entire nail magazine is plastic and a good portion of the handle as well. This serves to make the gun lighter and, as we found with a few test drops, the plastic is quite durable. There is also a metal bar that runs along the front edge of the cartridge for added strength.

ArrowContinue reading: "Paslode T250A 16 Gauge Angled Finish Nailer - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

May 12, 2008

Artillery Pry Bar System - Review

Artillery_case.jpgWe first met Joe Skach a couple years ago at a JLC Trade Show. Back then, he was displaying his Artillery Pry Bar System with such enthusiasm and glee that it was hard not to like the guy and be curious about the tool. At the time, the Joe was still working out the details for manufacturing and distributing the tool, so he didn't have any for sale. Now, well over a year later, he's finally gotten all the kinks worked out and the tool is available. We got the opportunity to try one out and for the past month we have abused the hell out of the thing. We have to say that not only is it by far the finest demolition tool we've ever used, it very well may be the coolest thing we have ever put our hands on.

ArrowContinue reading: "Artillery Pry Bar System - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

April 28, 2008

TKTool 18-Volt Drill - Review

tktool_18v.jpgA couple weeks ago we reviewed TKTool's new pocket driver, and we found it to be an inexpensive and effective little tool. Well, Tool King was nice enough to also let us test out their new 18-Volt Drill and here's what we found.

The drill has some cool features on it. It has a 23-position clutch, two speeds, a little level, and two bit holders (one on each side of the level).

ArrowContinue reading: "TKTool 18-Volt Drill - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 16, 2008

C.H. Hanson Chalk Hog - Review

hanson_chalk_hog.jpgHow much can you really say about a chalk line? Before today, we thought the answer was, "not much." But, after using C.H. Hanson's Chalk Hog for a while, we found that, with any finely-crafted tool, we can just keep talking and talking and talking...

The Chalk Hog is part of C.H. Hanson's ongoing Signature Series which kicked off last year with the release of the freakishly cool Pivot Square, and like that tool, the Hog is an innovative take on an old standard.

ArrowContinue reading: "C.H. Hanson Chalk Hog - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (6) | social bookmarking

April 8, 2008

TK Tool 4.8-Volt Screwdriver - Review

tktool_screwdriver.jpgTool King is one of our favorite online tool retailers. They're fast, the price is competitive and they're always offering some sweet rebate that we can't resist. For the most part, they deal exclusively in contractor-grade tools. You go to their store looking for Bosch, DeWalt, Festool, Hitachi, and Jet. But, recently, they've stuck their toe into the light-duty arena with the release of their very own line of tools. TKTools was launched last month and they were nice enough to send us some samples to check out. Here, we're reviewing their little 4.8V Screwdriver, and at some point soon, we're going to look at their 18-volt drill.

ArrowContinue reading: "TK Tool 4.8-Volt Screwdriver - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 4, 2008

Paslode PowerFramer 350 Framing Gun- Review

paslode_powerframer.jpgPaslode has just released a new framing gun called the PowerFramer 350. They were nice enough to let us try one out, and here's what we found.

First of all, this gun is very light (7.5 lbs). In fact, it doesn't really feel like a framer at all. The weight and balance had us thinking of something more along the lines of an old model finish gun. We've used a lot of different framers, and this one was, by far, the lightest and the best, ergonomically speaking. Our research tells us that there are lighter models out there, but believe us when we say that this one is really light.

And it's powerful too. Over the course of a week, we used it to frame up a little deck and it never once misfired or put a nail half in. Every single shot was driven home to the depth we selected. And when we dialed up the maximum depth, the nail heads were absolutely buried in the wood. We have little doubt that this gun would have its way with all forms of engineered lumber.

ArrowContinue reading: "Paslode PowerFramer 350 Framing Gun- Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

March 12, 2008

Ridgid SeeSnake Micro - Review

Ridgid_seesnake.jpgWe've been hearing about The Ridgid SeeSnake Micro for a while now and in the last month or so, we've seen it start to show up at job sites in a lot of different hands. First it was electricians, then it was plumbers, and now it's everyone else from carpenters to HVAC guys. We wanted to find out what the big deal is all about so we got our hands on one and gave it a whirl.

ArrowContinue reading: "Ridgid SeeSnake Micro - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Newsletter
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
bob: Finding no solution to diamond cutter loosining every time read more
Dar Gray: I live in MN 55435 - where do I find read more
Kevin: very cool makes me want to get into lath turning read more
Radeleon: I can use this in my hobby stuff. Ive been read more
chris: What saw are you trying to hook it up to? read more
Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

HomePire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy