April 28, 2008

TKTool 18-Volt Drill - Review

tktool_18v.jpgA couple weeks ago we reviewed TKTool's new pocket driver, and we found it to be an inexpensive and effective little tool. Well, Tool King was nice enough to also let us test out their new 18-Volt Drill and here's what we found.

The drill has some cool features on it. It has a 23-position clutch, two speeds, a little level, and two bit holders (one on each side of the level).

ArrowContinue reading: "TKTool 18-Volt Drill - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 16, 2008

C.H. Hanson Chalk Hog - Review

hanson_chalk_hog.jpgHow much can you really say about a chalk line? Before today, we thought the answer was, "not much." But, after using C.H. Hanson's Chalk Hog for a while, we found that, with any finely-crafted tool, we can just keep talking and talking and talking...

The Chalk Hog is part of C.H. Hanson's ongoing Signature Series which kicked off last year with the release of the freakishly cool Pivot Square, and like that tool, the Hog is an innovative take on an old standard.

ArrowContinue reading: "C.H. Hanson Chalk Hog - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (6) | social bookmarking

April 8, 2008

TK Tool 4.8-Volt Screwdriver - Review

tktool_screwdriver.jpgTool King is one of our favorite online tool retailers. They're fast, the price is competitive and they're always offering some sweet rebate that we can't resist. For the most part, they deal exclusively in contractor-grade tools. You go to their store looking for Bosch, DeWalt, Festool, Hitachi, and Jet. But, recently, they've stuck their toe into the light-duty arena with the release of their very own line of tools. TKTools was launched last month and they were nice enough to send us some samples to check out. Here, we're reviewing their little 4.8V Screwdriver, and at some point soon, we're going to look at their 18-volt drill.

ArrowContinue reading: "TK Tool 4.8-Volt Screwdriver - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 4, 2008

Paslode PowerFramer 350 Framing Gun- Review

paslode_powerframer.jpgPaslode has just released a new framing gun called the PowerFramer 350. They were nice enough to let us try one out, and here's what we found.

First of all, this gun is very light (7.5 lbs). In fact, it doesn't really feel like a framer at all. The weight and balance had us thinking of something more along the lines of an old model finish gun. We've used a lot of different framers, and this one was, by far, the lightest and the best, ergonomically speaking. Our research tells us that there are lighter models out there, but believe us when we say that this one is really light.

And it's powerful too. Over the course of a week, we used it to frame up a little deck and it never once misfired or put a nail half in. Every single shot was driven home to the depth we selected. And when we dialed up the maximum depth, the nail heads were absolutely buried in the wood. We have little doubt that this gun would have its way with all forms of engineered lumber.

ArrowContinue reading: "Paslode PowerFramer 350 Framing Gun- Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

March 12, 2008

Ridgid SeeSnake Micro - Review

Ridgid_seesnake.jpgWe've been hearing about The Ridgid SeeSnake Micro for a while now and in the last month or so, we've seen it start to show up at job sites in a lot of different hands. First it was electricians, then it was plumbers, and now it's everyone else from carpenters to HVAC guys. We wanted to find out what the big deal is all about so we got our hands on one and gave it a whirl.

ArrowContinue reading: "Ridgid SeeSnake Micro - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

March 10, 2008

Skil 7.2V Lithium Ion Power Driver - Review

Skil_7_volt_in_hand.jpgSkil has joined Bosch and Milwaukee (and now Hitachi) by getting into the compact driver market. Late last year they released a little 7.2V Pocket Driver, and we were pretty thrilled when they offered to let us try one out.

It's a very little driver that fits easily in the hands. It's got a 1/4" hex chuck for quick bit changing, a forward/reverse indicator, an 11 position clutch, and a little light to tell you when the battery is getting low.

ArrowContinue reading: "Skil 7.2V Lithium Ion Power Driver - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

February 25, 2008

Bosch JS5 Jigsaw - Review

Bosch_js5.jpgTo us, Bosch Jigsaws are some of the best out there. We've used a lot of different models and have always been impressed with their accuracy and quality. So when we heard that they were releasing a compact model, we were curious how it would turn out. Would they be able to pack all the goodness into a smaller package, or would the quality be somewhat sacrificed?

The JS5 has many of the features that are found on quality jigsaws these days. It's got a great tool-free blade change system, which is a real plus to anyone who used to carry around an 8 inch screwdriver for blade changing. Now, all you have to do is press the blade up into the slot and it clicks into place. To release the blade, just twist the collet, using a thumb tab, and the blade falls right out. It's similar to the system that is on some reciprocating saws.

ArrowContinue reading: "Bosch JS5 Jigsaw - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

January 31, 2008

Ryobi Procross AIRgrip Self Leveling Laser - Review

ryobi_level_on-wall.jpgWith the resources that are out there, homeowners are taking on more and more complex projects and are thus starting to use the tools that the pros use. With this move happening, it's no shock that Ryobi is on the leading edge of providing an affordable laser level to the general public. We recently tried out their AIRgrip Self-Leveling Laser and here's what we found.

First, a bit of general information on the tool. The laser itself projects from a little pendulum that hangs inside of the tool housing. The housing itself can rotate 360 degrees around, meaning that the level can be set in one corner of the room and even if the laser isn't projecting all around the room, one twist of a knob can move it. There is also a knob to move the housing up and down with about an inch of play here, so you can get the level all set up and you can still adjust some to get it to the desired height.

ArrowContinue reading: "Ryobi Procross AIRgrip Self Leveling Laser - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

January 29, 2008

JacPac - Review

jacpac_case.jpgWe've been interested in Supplierpipeline's JacPac ever since we first laid eyes on it last month. It's a little portable pneumatic power source that clips on your belt, making you a one man mobile nailing army. It seemed to us that this might be one of those tools that really could change the way you work. Just imagine what it would be like to have all the ease and versatility of your nail guns without all the weight, noise, and hassle of the compressor setup. But we also had a nagging feeling that this whole thing would be a bit of a gimmick, that it wouldn't shoot nails very well, or that it be poorly made and fall apart after the first use. Well, thanks to the nice folks at Supplierpipeline, we got the opportunity to test one out and here's what we found.

The tank itself is filled with liquid CO2, which is easily available at any paintball supply store and it's pretty cheap. A quick google search located the nearest paintball emporium and $3.45 later the tank was ready to go. The rest of the setup is easy enough, just screw the tank into the regulator and you're done.

ArrowContinue reading: "JacPac - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

January 9, 2008

Tool Snob Top Five Reviews of 2007

idol_judges.jpgWe were just looking over the last year's traffic numbers and thought we'd let you know what the most popular Tool Snob reviews of '07 were. These rankings are just from the number of page views and don't account for how long the post has been up. That being said, the number two spot is occupied by a review that was posted on December 10th. So, in a just world, that one should really get the number one spot.

In descending order, we've got.....

5. Cadex CPB23.50 23 Gauge Pinner and Brad Nailer

4. Skil 7.2-Volt Lithium-Ion Power Wrench

3. Husky 84-Watt Portable Tripod Fluorescent Work Light

2. Ryobi 4-Piece Lithium-Ion Power Tool Kit

...Click through to find out the most popular Tool Snob review to date....


ArrowContinue reading: "Tool Snob Top Five Reviews of 2007"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Newsletter
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
larrycura: And the feature on their website I like most is read more
william Freck: Gentlemen: When i purchased my Zip-Nip i also received a read more
Screamer: I left mine plugged into the wall and it turned read more
Charlie: Cool! This fills a nice niche for DIY'ers who need read more
chris wyse: I have the sawhelper ultafence and was just cleaning out read more
Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

HomePire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy