September 9, 2008

DAP Kwik Seal 3.0 - Review

dap_quickseal.jpgDAP has recently released their Kwik Seal 3.0, a sort of super caulk that apparently excels in virtually every category when placed head to head with traditional silicone. It's supposed to dry faster, be tougher, and fend off mold. We got our hands on a tube and gave the kitchen sink a much overdue caulking and here's what we thought.

Probably the coolest thing about Kwik Seal is its drying time, or rather its skin-over time. All it takes is three hours and the caulk can withstand water. To us, this meant applying the Kwik Seal in the early afternoon and still being able to use the kitchen sink for dinner. Under normal circumstances, with a normal silicone, the sink would have been off limits until the next day and we would have had an excuse not to do the dishes.

ArrowContinue reading: "DAP Kwik Seal 3.0 - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 18, 2008

Ze-VO EndCuts - Review

zevo_endcuts.jpgMaking sure that cut ends are primed is an essential part of quality building, but it's also a royal pain in the ass. It's a whole separate set-up. You need to break out the primer (or head to the store to get some), make sure you've got some brushes handy, and then as you work all day, you get to watch your fingers get increasingly covered with primer, starting with a spot here and there, then on to the fingertips, and then, somehow, all over your hands and on to your shirt.

We saw Ze-VO's new EndCuts at the hardware store a few weeks ago and figured we'd give it a shot. It's a little tube of acrylic primer with a little foam applicator tip (think shoe polish). The intention is that you can quickly and easily prime the cut end of whatever it is you're working on. At the time, we were putting up clapboards and since we're manic about having our ends primed, why not see if it works?

ArrowContinue reading: "Ze-VO EndCuts - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 28, 2008

Festool MFK 700 Modular Router - Review

festool_mfk.jpgFestool has recently bombarded the market with four new tools; a modular router, a full-size router, an upgraded workbench, and the much talked about Kapex miter saw. Not only does Festool operate at a level of quality that must frustrate other tool makers, but they are one of the few companies who consistently design from the ground up, seemingly forgetting everything they know about the tool at hand and starting over with, usually, fresh and revolutionary ideas. We got a chance to test out their new MFK 700 Trim Router and were excited at the potential of this tool.

ArrowContinue reading: "Festool MFK 700 Modular Router - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

July 23, 2008

Zip Sander - Review

zip_sander.jpgZip Sander, you're the one.
You make sanding lots of fun.
Zip Sander, we're awfully fond of you....

Tools that look like bath toys aren't usually up our alley, but the Zip Sander seemed pretty interesting, so we thought we'd take a closer inspection and try one out. And to be honest, we're glad we did. The Zip Sander proved to be a versatile addition to our sanding repertoire for a number of reasons.

ArrowContinue reading: "Zip Sander - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 15, 2008

C.H. Hanson Flip Knife - Review

flip_knife_in_hand.jpgIn our work day, probably the most important tool to us is the utility knife. Throughout each day, the knife serves as pencil sharpener, rope cutter, box opener, wood shaver, and everything else you can imagine. No joke the tool is in our hands about 20 to 50 times each day. This is why we were so interested when we heard that C.H. Hanson has just released something called the Flip Knife. The concept here is simple; a utility knife with a blade at each end.

ArrowContinue reading: "C.H. Hanson Flip Knife - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

July 14, 2008

Final Cut Saw Blade - Review

final_cut.jpgWe weren't really sure what to make of the Final Cut Saw Blade when we first heard of it. The whole idea seemed...well...incredibly silly. Is someone really selling a saw blade with a piece of sandpaper stuck on it? It screamed 'gimmick' to us, but we were still interested to check it out because maybe, like chocolate and peanut butter, the saw blade/sandpaper combo is is a match of destiny. So we got our hands on one and used it around the shop for a while and the verdict is....

ArrowContinue reading: "Final Cut Saw Blade - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (5) | social bookmarking

July 8, 2008

Campbell Hausfeld Air Tools - Review

Campbell_hausfeld_air_tools.jpgThis month Campbell Hausfeld, one of the most well respected names in the pneumatic world, is releasing a number of air tools to be sold exclusively at Home Depot. The tools come complete with storage cases and accessories. We had the opportunity to check out a few, so we gave them a good beating and here's what we thought.

In total, the series includes five tools; an impact wrench, an air ratchet, an air hammer, an air die grinder, and a cut-off tool. We tested the wrench, the ratchet, and the hammer.

ArrowContinue reading: "Campbell Hausfeld Air Tools - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 27, 2008

Duo-Fast 903000 Cordless 20 Degree Framing Nailer - Review

duofast_in_case.jpgWe were a little worried about testing out this tool. Up until now, we had only used one cordless nailer and it was quite a long time ago. Not only was the gun bulky (and smelly), but it kept running out of fuel and the battery couldn't keep a charge. But we thought that maybe the technology has been refined over the past handful of years so we cleared the slate and gave the new Duo-Fast Cordless Framing Nailer a fair shake.

ArrowContinue reading: "Duo-Fast 903000 Cordless 20 Degree Framing Nailer - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 16, 2008

Skil Power Cutter - Review

skil_cutter_side.jpgSkil has definitely shown themselves to be interested in innovation. We loved last year's Power Wrench and we're looking forward to the benchtop tools they're releasing this September. In the meantime, they've slipped out the Power Cutter. It's a light-duty cutter powered by an 3.6 volt internal lithium-ion battery.

The Skil Cutter isn't the most aggressive tool you'll ever hold in your hand and it's not supposed to be. It's meant for small tasks. The packaging says that it can cut selected materials up to 1/4" thick. The list includes leather, wallpaper, cardboard, and carpet.

ArrowContinue reading: "Skil Power Cutter - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

May 28, 2008

Paslode T250A 16 Gauge Angled Finish Nailer - Review

Paslode_finish.jpgPaslode has always been on the edge of air gun advancements, so it's no shocker that they're one of the first companies to release a 16 gauge angled finish nailer. Combining the smaller sized nails with the compact "fit anywhere" principals of the angled magazine, they've produced a gun that is, well, small. Very small. But is it powerful? Who cares how compact a gun is if it can't shoot a nail into mahogany? We've been testing out this gun for a few weeks now, and here's what we thought.

At first we were a bit surprised at how much plastic is on the gun. The entire nail magazine is plastic and a good portion of the handle as well. This serves to make the gun lighter and, as we found with a few test drops, the plastic is quite durable. There is also a metal bar that runs along the front edge of the cartridge for added strength.

ArrowContinue reading: "Paslode T250A 16 Gauge Angled Finish Nailer - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Newsletter
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Michael: An extension ladder is the only piece missing from my read more
Tool Snob: Right. Well at least they aren't forced to solve a read more
Mark: Canadians are not eligible. The FIRST line of the rules read more
david: The worst piece of garbage ever is the car pocket read more
Kevin: looks pretty helpful for ladder work, windows, gutters, etc. Also read more
Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

HomePire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy