February 18, 2009

Fine Woodworking - April 2009

fine_woodworking_april09.jpgWay back when we started the site, we used to review all of the woodworking/construction magazines we got. It was sort of a tedious affair and after we solicited your opinion on the matter, we discovered that you enjoyed reading them about as much as we enjoyed writing them. But still, when we get something we're impressed with, we like to let you know about it. And this month's Fine Woodworking is just such an issue.

A lot of the content of Fine Woodworking lands way above our heads. We don't have the time to spend a day tuning up a block plane or the patience to make a massive table saw jig for just one cut (for a piece of furniture that we don't have the skill to make). But this latest issue, while filled with a lot of expert-level ideas and procedures, also has a number of great articles for anyone interested in tinkering around in the garage or basement shop.

The issue includes...

ArrowContinue reading: "Fine Woodworking - April 2009"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

February 17, 2009

Roofing Protractor - Review

Roofing_protractor.jpgRoof framing is tough. Building anything beyond even the most basic of shed roofs can get very complicated very fast. There are quite a few measuring tools available to help out the roofer. The newest of which comes out of Australia and is the invention of a fellow named Derek Pater. It is called the Roofing Protractor and Pater was kind enough to send us one, all the way from another continent, so we could take a look at it.

ArrowContinue reading: "Roofing Protractor - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

February 16, 2009

Expedition Tools HK1 Hydrokinetic Wrench - Review

hk1.jpg

The HK1 Hydrokinetic Wrench is one of the more innovative items we've come across in quite a while. It's one of those tools where it seems like the manufacturer rethought the whole concept from the ground up. In it's most simple terms, the HK1 is an adjustable box-end wrench. But when you think through the idea a bit deeper, this little guy is capable of replacing a good chunk of your metric wrench set (7 to 19mm) as well as your SAE set (1/4 to 3/4").

ArrowContinue reading: "Expedition Tools HK1 Hydrokinetic Wrench - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

February 13, 2009

Bosch Edge Reciprocating Saw Blade - Review

Bosch_edge.jpg

We think of recip saw blades the same way we think about tissues; one, two, if you're lucky three uses and it's in the trash. Or rather, they should be in the trash, but if you're like us, you've got a tool case filled with bent, toothless, stripped-out blades that you're convinced you can get just one more go out of (note: tissues, we throw out; recip saw blades, we tend to keep around).

Bosch has recently released a new blade called the Edge, specifically made for heavy metal cutting. According to the company, the Edge's teeth stay sharper longer, the blade is more resistant to heat, it cuts 20% faster, and it has a thicker body to make straighter cuts. We got a sample of the toughest of the three different Edge blades and were happy to put it to the test against its competitors.

ArrowContinue reading: "Bosch Edge Reciprocating Saw Blade - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

February 3, 2009

Spout Popper - Review

spout_pop1.jpgIt's our policy to review everything that gets sent our way; big, small, new, old, normal, or strange, it doesn't matter. Once we get an item, we test it out and try to have something posted up about it within a couple weeks depending on the complexity of the item. We're pretty consistent on this, but every once in a while something slips through the cracks and, thus far, the most egregious of these 'slippings' has been the Spout Popper. We got the Spout Popper over a year ago and since then, we've tested it out plenty, but for some reason, we never gave it an official review (although we did a posting on it before it arrived, here). Well we're happy to say to all you caulking tube fanatics out there, that we've finally gotten around to it and here, with no more delay, is a review of the famed Spout Popper....

ArrowContinue reading: "Spout Popper - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

January 30, 2009

Craftsman NexTec Auto-Hammer - Review

autohammer.jpgThis little fella hit the stores just before the holidays as part of Craftsman new NexTec line ("next technology?"). We got our hands on one a few weeks ago and have been testing it in a variety of situations and here's what we thought...

If we had to classify the Auto Hammer, we'd say that it's a battery-powered palm nailer. The functionality is the same; the piston within the sleeve that pounds the nail with a series of hits, in this case, up to 3600 impacts per minute, which is actually more than most, if not all, palm nailers. The Auto Hammer also has a magnetic head that can hold any nail up to 7/16" wide. There's also a little LED that lights up the work piece. The tools in the NexTec line are all powered by a little 12-volt li-ion battery. Now, on to how the tool actually performed...

ArrowContinue reading: "Craftsman NexTec Auto-Hammer - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

January 27, 2009

Gorilla Super Glue - Review

Marlowe_buddha_gorilla.jpg

We have this great old ceramic Buddha that belonged to our grandfather. It sits on the bookshelf by the tv. Or, rather, it did until Marlowe decided it would look better on the floor in about 12 pieces. We were pretty bummed about the event, and decided that we should at least try to fix it. We had heard that Gorilla had added a super glue to their line of amazing adhesive products, so we got our hands on a tube of it and tried our best to repair the big old Buddha.

ArrowContinue reading: "Gorilla Super Glue - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

January 26, 2009

Rockwell Jawhorse - Review

jawhorse.jpgMan's two most ancient needs are the need for shelter and the need for food. It's a little known fact that the third item on the list is the need to crush things; whether it be an ant, a beer can, or the annoying kid who lives next door. Anyway, this is where the Rockwell Jawhorse comes in, and why it is an essential tool for every single person on the planet. But the fun doesn't stop with crushing things, in fact, the Jawhorse is about as multi-purpose as a tool gets.

ArrowContinue reading: "Rockwell Jawhorse - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (4) | social bookmarking

January 19, 2009

Arbortech Mini-Grinder - Review

arbortech_mini_grinder.jpg

Last week we reviewed Arbortech's Power Chisel and were amazed at how much we liked it and how well it worked. We've also been playing around with their other woodworking tool, the Mini-Grinder, and now we're here to tell you how that one worked.

The basics are the same as the Power Chisel, the Mini-Grinder is an attachment for a standard angle grinder. It attaches to the top of the grinder and uses the spinning chuck as a gear to move the mini grinder at the end of the attachment. Like the Power Chisel, it's available as a single unit (attached to an Arbortech Grinder) or as a stand-alone that you can attach to your existing grinder.

ArrowContinue reading: "Arbortech Mini-Grinder - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

January 9, 2009

Arbortech Power Chisel - Review

arbortech_power_chisel.jpg

We've known about Arbortech's AS160 AllSaw for a while now (it's consistently been one of our most popular articles), but what we didn't know was that they also make some innovative woodworking tools; the Power Chisel and the Mini-Grinder. We weren't sure what to make of these tools at first glance, other than to be impressed with the fact that they are both essentially attachments for an angle grinder, which is one of our favorite tools and one that we think doesn't get the kudos that it deserves. We jumped at the opportunity to test out these tools and, here, we're taking a look at the Power Chisel. Our review of the Mini-Grinder should be along at some point soon.

So what is the Power Chisel all about and how does it work?

ArrowContinue reading: "Arbortech Power Chisel - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Newsletter
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
bob: Finding no solution to diamond cutter loosining every time read more
Dar Gray: I live in MN 55435 - where do I find read more
Kevin: very cool makes me want to get into lath turning read more
Radeleon: I can use this in my hobby stuff. Ive been read more
chris: What saw are you trying to hook it up to? read more
Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

HomePire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy