September 19, 2013

Arbortech Mini-TURBO - Review

arbortech_mini_hero.jpg

We've been fans of Arbortech for a long time. First we heard about their insane AS170 Brick and Mortar Saw (here are our thoughts on an earlier version of the tool) and then we discovered that they also carry a line of interesting woodworking/carving tools, most notably, the Power Chisel and the Mini-Grinder. Not too long ago, they released a very intense grinder attachment called the TURBOPlane. It took the concept of a power planer and stuck it on the end of a whirling grinder chuck. It's pretty badass and the rate at which it removes wood is really impressive (our review is here).

So now, we got word that they're on the verge of releasing a smaller version of the tool called the Mini-TURBO. They were nice enough to get one into our hands. We gave it a good test run and here's what we think.

ArrowContinue reading: "Arbortech Mini-TURBO - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

September 5, 2013

Paslode Fuel + Nail Packs - Review

paslode_fuel_nail2.JPG

This isn't a review as much as it's a high-five, fist-pound, belly-bump to Paslode for their Fuel + Nail packs. Since we got the li-ion version of the Paslode finish gun, we've hardly even picked up a pneumatic nailer. Why bother? The Paslode has all of the power with none of the compressor hassle. Gone are hoses, finding an outlet for the compressor, obnoxious filling noise, and just lugging the thing around. Goodbye.

So Paslode offers, these Fuel + Nail packs where you get 1000 galvy finish nails and a fuel pack. By a total coincidence, a fuel pack is good for approximately 1000 nails. They sent us one to check out and it all works like you'd expect it would. One really nice touch is that each pack includes an adapter nozzle so the gas canister can be used with the NiCd version of the tool. The connection in the Li-Ion gun is much better and not as fragile, but if you already own the older gun, these will work for you too.

Overall, they're really convenient and they eliminate that constant feeling we used to have where we were always worried about running out of fuel half way through a job.

The packs are around $20 and are available at Home Depot or online (or your local tool store).

At Amazon

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 3, 2013

Festool Carvex 420 Jigsaw - Review

festool_carvex_front.JPG

We've been waiting on the Festool Carvex for a while...maybe almost three years since we first heard about it. We got a chance to play with one at the JLC show a few years back and at the time it seemed like the jigsaw that would solve all of our jigsaw problems (accuracy, straight cuts, tight scrolls, etc). Then we heard that its release was delayed...and it disappeared for a while...but now it's here. When Festool offered to send us one to check out, we hopped at the opportunity. This one looks like it has it all. And as it turns out, it does have it all. But only if "all" includes a functionality problem that unfortunately cancels out much of the good that it has to offer and makes it a tool we can't recommend. A real and total bummer.

ArrowContinue reading: "Festool Carvex 420 Jigsaw - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (10) | social bookmarking

July 3, 2013

Warlord - Review

warlord.JPG

This. Is. Warlord.

What better way for us to celebrate the 4th of July than to take a look at a perfect product of American exceptionalism and rugged individuality. Meet Warlord.

ArrowContinue reading: "Warlord - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (5) | social bookmarking

June 24, 2013

Klein RT600 GFCI Receptacle Tester - Review

klein_gfci.JPG

Last week we looked at the bottomless well of confusing functionality that is the Klein MM5000 Multimeter (confusing because we're not that smart, not because of anything Klein did), but today we're checking out their latest GFCI receptacle tester, a much more friendly item to the electrically clueless.

ArrowContinue reading: "Klein RT600 GFCI Receptacle Tester - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 21, 2013

GO-2 Socket - Review

go2_hero.JPG

Sockets are essential, but the process of keeping an organized and complete set is nearly impossible. All it takes is one fall off a table and three pieces are never seen again. The GO-2 Socket is a one-size fits all (well....most all) socket head that is made to cover all of the sizes from 3/8 to 3/4 SAE as well as 10-20mm. The makers of the tool recently sent us a sample to check out. We worked it over pretty good and this is what we have to say about it.

ArrowContinue reading: "GO-2 Socket - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

June 20, 2013

Ridgid 100-Watt Power Inverter - Review

ridgid_inverter.JPG

Construction happens fast these days. Communications between client, contractor, designer, subs, and architect go back and forth like a bouncy ball in a shoebox. Part of this is due to the 'cover your ass' mentality that relies on email for the digital paper trail. Another part is that people no longer seem interested in the more efficient method of, well, just picking up a phone. I used to work with a project manager who would literally send hundreds of emails each day. Most of them just asking a single follow-up question to a previous email. Fella, just pick up the phone and it will be all over in about 3 minutes. But anyway, my point is that even crusty construction workers need constant access to a laptop, smartphone, or tablet, and for them, there's the Ridgid 100-Watt Power Inverter.

ArrowContinue reading: "Ridgid 100-Watt Power Inverter - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

June 19, 2013

Klein MM5000 Electrician's TRMS Multimeter - Review

klein_mm_hero.JPG

I had a boss once who would refer to his multimeter as "the amazing tool that has a thousand uses, of which we know only two." That sentiment pretty much defines my relationship with the multimeter. I can do a little wiring, but I'm no electrician. I know how to use a multimeter to check voltage and current, but that's about it. Still though, they have that cool tri-corder vibe and if you bust one out in front of a client, it makes you look really intelligent (Oh my, he knows how to use that...he must be good!), so I'm all in favor of them, even if their true capabilities are way, way beyond my simple brain.

Klein has just released two new models and they dropped one of the MM5000 in the mail for us to check out. The MM5000 is certainly impressive looking, even if a large portion of its functionality remains a total mystery.

ArrowContinue reading: "Klein MM5000 Electrician's TRMS Multimeter - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

May 27, 2013

Skil MAG77LT 15-Amp Magnesium Worm Drive - Review

skil_mag77lt_hero.JPG

Circular saws generally come in two flavors; sidewinders and worm drives. Sidewinders are what you generally associate with the tool. They're the classic, small-bodied saws with the direct drive motors. Worm drives are quite a bit larger and heavier because they're geared down, exchanging some of that motor speed for more torque.

Over the years I've slowly evolved into a worm drive person. Even though they're heavier than sidewinders, I like them for their never-ending strength and solid handling. Years ago, they were predominantly a west coast thing, but I've been seeing more and more of them here on the east coast. Now with the magical interweb being able to ship whatever where ever, the two saw styles are in the process of fully mingling.

ArrowContinue reading: "Skil MAG77LT 15-Amp Magnesium Worm Drive - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (5) | social bookmarking

May 15, 2013

Gojo Hand Medic - Review

gojo_handmedic1.JPG

For the most part my hands look like they belong on someone who is 150 years old. They're usually scratched, cracking, freakishly dry and the cuticles are nothing more than shredded scraps of dead skin. Moisturizing isn't really in my daily program, so my hands tend to stay in disaster format. I'm also in the process of tiling 500 square feet of finished basement, so with all the thinset and water, things have even gotten worse. My hands look almost mummified. A couple weeks ago, Gojo sent us some of their Hand Medic to try out and we tasked it against our nearly destroyed hands. Here's what we thought.

ArrowContinue reading: "Gojo Hand Medic - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Newsletter
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Michael: An extension ladder is the only piece missing from my read more
Tool Snob: Right. Well at least they aren't forced to solve a read more
Mark: Canadians are not eligible. The FIRST line of the rules read more
david: The worst piece of garbage ever is the car pocket read more
Kevin: looks pretty helpful for ladder work, windows, gutters, etc. Also read more
Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

HomePire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy