December 2, 2013

Rockwell 4-1/2 Inch Circular Saw - Review

rockwell_circ_hero.JPG

Rockwell has just hit the scene with a little circular saw. 4-1/2-inch blade, to be exact. This is a good sized step down from the standard 7-1/4 or the increasingly popular 6-1/2 inch blades. These smaller trim saws aren't uncommon, but Rockwell decided to give theirs an "in-line" body style, as opposed to a traditional circular saw body. The result is that it looks like one of those "all-purpose" saws that claims to cut tile, stone, and wood. But given my experiences with those saws, I'm happy to report that this one is nothing like them and thankfully, is only geared towards wood. Rockwell sent us one to check out and here's what we thought...

ArrowContinue reading: "Rockwell 4-1/2 Inch Circular Saw - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

November 21, 2013

Klein Multi-Bit Power Driver - Review

klein_powerbit_full.JPG

Klein has a very distinctive style of screwdriver. It has a reversible shaft and at each end fits a reversible bit. Also, the hex ends (which are different sizes) can be used as nut drivers. Its a clever way to have multiple driver tips at quick disposal. We were happy to see that they've also released something called the Multi-Bit Power Driver. It's an accessory that takes that same concept and puts it on the end of your drill or impact driver. They have two sizes available; one holds five different drivers and the other six.

Klein was nice enough to send us a sample of each to check out and we pretty impressed with them. There's not a whole lot to say, really. They're easy to use, convenient, and, according to Klein, rated for impact guns.

ArrowContinue reading: "Klein Multi-Bit Power Driver - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

November 18, 2013

Festool SysLite High-Intensity LED Work Lamp - Review

festool_syslite_dark.JPG

A while back Festool released a little worklight, called the SysLite. They sent us one a looong time ago and we haven't gotten around to reviewing it until now. This is actually pretty strange. It's not like we've forgotten about the light. How could we? We use it for literally everything.

Most work lights don't offer much beyond, "here is the bulb and here is a swivel adjustment." Not so with the Festool. The SysLite is a whole different animal.

ArrowContinue reading: "Festool SysLite High-Intensity LED Work Lamp - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 8, 2013

Rockler Koostik Kit - Review

rockler_koostik_pieces.JPG

Couple weeks ago, we mentioned the Rockler Koostik kit. It looked like a cool little diy project for just about anyone. Rocker was kind enough to send us one to check out so we took a little time from the schedule and assembled it and this is what we think.

ArrowContinue reading: "Rockler Koostik Kit - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 5, 2013

Senco DS212 18-Volt Li-Ion Auto-Feed Screwdriver - Review

senco_autofeed_hero.JPG

A little while back Senco updated their line of cordless auto-feed screwdrivers. The new versions are not only powered by a li-ion battery, but they also have a space age look to them, giving it the appearance of something that Ripley from Aliens would use. Senco was nice enough to send us one of their DS212 18s to check out and here's what we thought.

ArrowContinue reading: "Senco DS212 18-Volt Li-Ion Auto-Feed Screwdriver - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 4, 2013

Milwaukee Door Lock Installation Kit - Review

milwaukee_lockset_hero.JPG

I consider my front door to be one of my prized possessions. It's original to the house, just about 100 years old, and it's made of the good old heavily shellaced, tight-grained pine that doesn't exist anymore (with a casing made of chestnut...which also doesn't exist anymore). It's got that nice red look to it and it takes a good shoulder shove to get it to close. It's a great old door.

But because the world is a creepy place, I needed to put a deadbolt in it and that meant drilling a few holes. Installing a lockset from scratch isn't really a difficult thing to do, it's just drilling holes. But the placement has to be exact. That's where door lock jigs come in. Over the years I've proved to myself that I can indeed drill out for a door lock freehand, but that doesn't mean I want to suffer through the process each time. I really don't. It's tedious and if I can avoid it, I'll do it. I knew that Milwaukee recently designed their own jig, and they nicely agreed to send me one to test out.

ArrowContinue reading: "Milwaukee Door Lock Installation Kit - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

October 25, 2013

AnySharp Plus Knife Sharpener - Review

anysharp_hero.jpg

I carry a knife all the time and honestly I'm pretty abusive toward it. I see it as not only a knife, but a screwdriver and pry bar too. It also works as a bottle opener. It's not very surprising that a nice edge doesn't last long. I have a couple of those scraper/sharpeners that are popular and every so often I stop long enough to swipe the knife across them a few times. So it was pretty cool when AnySharp contacted us asking if we wanted to take their AnySharp Plus for a spin.

(See below for a 25% off coupon code at AnySharp.com)

ArrowContinue reading: "AnySharp Plus Knife Sharpener - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

October 10, 2013

Outlaw Fasteners: A Kickstarter Worth Contributing To

outlaw.jpg

"One bit to rule them all...."

So we've been getting a lot of kickstarter emails lately. People have come up with ideas and they're trying to get the word out. That's fine. For the most part, we're somewhere between "meh" and "zzzzzzz" on most of the products. A drill with one new feature isn't going to get us too charged up. But the other week, a package arrived from a start-up called Outlaw Fasteners and their UniGrip drive system is a doozie.

It's a complete fastening system based around a single tiered drill bit. For a boring old Philips bit you need three bits to drive all three sizes of screws. Outlaw changes all of that. The bit looks like a Devo helmet (which automatically makes it awesome) but it's squared off like an Allen wrench. For the #2 size screw, two of the tiers fit into the screwhead, for the larger #3, three tiers fit in. With so many faces and edges making contact, there's hardly any way for one of these to strip out.

The fastener solves a lot of problems. First off, because all of the fastener sizes work off a single bit, it means no more ridiculous Altoid container loaded with P#1, P#2, P#3, R#1, R#2, and on and on. You just need to keep one bit loaded in the screw gun to deal with the entire range of screws.

Also, the fastener head is attractive, so it would be no problem being exposed on decking.

It's simply a great idea and in a perfect world it would eliminate Philips and the simply terrible and dreaded Robertson drives.

The Kickstarter campaign is live and it looks like they're already half way to their goal. We wish them luck.

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

September 30, 2013

Ryobi AirStrike 18-Volt 18 Gauge 2-inch Brad Nailer - Review

Ryobi_airstrike_hero.JPG

So it's no secret that we're on board with the cordless Paslode for all of our finish nailing needs. If we can take the compressor out of our routine, we're going to do it. But what about a cordless brad gun? Ryobi was kind enough to get one of their new 18-volt AirStrike Brad Nailers in our hands and we've been playing around with it for a little while. Here's what we think:

ArrowContinue reading: "Ryobi AirStrike 18-Volt 18 Gauge 2-inch Brad Nailer - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (5) | social bookmarking

September 19, 2013

Arbortech Mini-TURBO - Review

arbortech_mini_hero.jpg

We've been fans of Arbortech for a long time. First we heard about their insane AS170 Brick and Mortar Saw (here are our thoughts on an earlier version of the tool) and then we discovered that they also carry a line of interesting woodworking/carving tools, most notably, the Power Chisel and the Mini-Grinder. Not too long ago, they released a very intense grinder attachment called the TURBOPlane. It took the concept of a power planer and stuck it on the end of a whirling grinder chuck. It's pretty badass and the rate at which it removes wood is really impressive (our review is here).

So now, we got word that they're on the verge of releasing a smaller version of the tool called the Mini-TURBO. They were nice enough to get one into our hands. We gave it a good test run and here's what we think.

ArrowContinue reading: "Arbortech Mini-TURBO - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Newsletter
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Robert Wilson: Beware - my new Cadex (less than 1 box of read more
JOE: IM OF THE SAME MINDSET AS PETER THAT POSTED ON read more
jeff_williams: What a beauty! read more
Dan: Bear Grylls? That's funny - he spends his nights in read more
BJ Nicholls: If you're not set on battery power, Costco has been read more
Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

HomePire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
All items Copyright © 1999-2015 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy