November 5, 2013

Senco DS212 18-Volt Li-Ion Auto-Feed Screwdriver - Review

senco_autofeed_hero.JPG

A little while back Senco updated their line of cordless auto-feed screwdrivers. The new versions are not only powered by a li-ion battery, but they also have a space age look to them, giving it the appearance of something that Ripley from Aliens would use. Senco was nice enough to send us one of their DS212 18s to check out and here's what we thought.

ArrowContinue reading: "Senco DS212 18-Volt Li-Ion Auto-Feed Screwdriver - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 4, 2013

Milwaukee Door Lock Installation Kit - Review

milwaukee_lockset_hero.JPG

I consider my front door to be one of my prized possessions. It's original to the house, just about 100 years old, and it's made of the good old heavily shellaced, tight-grained pine that doesn't exist anymore (with a casing made of chestnut...which also doesn't exist anymore). It's got that nice red look to it and it takes a good shoulder shove to get it to close. It's a great old door.

But because the world is a creepy place, I needed to put a deadbolt in it and that meant drilling a few holes. Installing a lockset from scratch isn't really a difficult thing to do, it's just drilling holes. But the placement has to be exact. That's where door lock jigs come in. Over the years I've proved to myself that I can indeed drill out for a door lock freehand, but that doesn't mean I want to suffer through the process each time. I really don't. It's tedious and if I can avoid it, I'll do it. I knew that Milwaukee recently designed their own jig, and they nicely agreed to send me one to test out.

ArrowContinue reading: "Milwaukee Door Lock Installation Kit - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (3) | social bookmarking

October 25, 2013

AnySharp Plus Knife Sharpener - Review

anysharp_hero.jpg

I carry a knife all the time and honestly I'm pretty abusive toward it. I see it as not only a knife, but a screwdriver and pry bar too. It also works as a bottle opener. It's not very surprising that a nice edge doesn't last long. I have a couple of those scraper/sharpeners that are popular and every so often I stop long enough to swipe the knife across them a few times. So it was pretty cool when AnySharp contacted us asking if we wanted to take their AnySharp Plus for a spin.

(See below for a 25% off coupon code at AnySharp.com)

ArrowContinue reading: "AnySharp Plus Knife Sharpener - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

October 10, 2013

Outlaw Fasteners: A Kickstarter Worth Contributing To

outlaw.jpg

"One bit to rule them all...."

So we've been getting a lot of kickstarter emails lately. People have come up with ideas and they're trying to get the word out. That's fine. For the most part, we're somewhere between "meh" and "zzzzzzz" on most of the products. A drill with one new feature isn't going to get us too charged up. But the other week, a package arrived from a start-up called Outlaw Fasteners and their UniGrip drive system is a doozie.

It's a complete fastening system based around a single tiered drill bit. For a boring old Philips bit you need three bits to drive all three sizes of screws. Outlaw changes all of that. The bit looks like a Devo helmet (which automatically makes it awesome) but it's squared off like an Allen wrench. For the #2 size screw, two of the tiers fit into the screwhead, for the larger #3, three tiers fit in. With so many faces and edges making contact, there's hardly any way for one of these to strip out.

The fastener solves a lot of problems. First off, because all of the fastener sizes work off a single bit, it means no more ridiculous Altoid container loaded with P#1, P#2, P#3, R#1, R#2, and on and on. You just need to keep one bit loaded in the screw gun to deal with the entire range of screws.

Also, the fastener head is attractive, so it would be no problem being exposed on decking.

It's simply a great idea and in a perfect world it would eliminate Philips and the simply terrible and dreaded Robertson drives.

The Kickstarter campaign is live and it looks like they're already half way to their goal. We wish them luck.

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

September 30, 2013

Ryobi AirStrike 18-Volt 18 Gauge 2-inch Brad Nailer - Review

Ryobi_airstrike_hero.JPG

So it's no secret that we're on board with the cordless Paslode for all of our finish nailing needs. If we can take the compressor out of our routine, we're going to do it. But what about a cordless brad gun? Ryobi was kind enough to get one of their new 18-volt AirStrike Brad Nailers in our hands and we've been playing around with it for a little while. Here's what we think:

ArrowContinue reading: "Ryobi AirStrike 18-Volt 18 Gauge 2-inch Brad Nailer - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (4) | social bookmarking

September 19, 2013

Arbortech Mini-TURBO - Review

arbortech_mini_hero.jpg

We've been fans of Arbortech for a long time. First we heard about their insane AS170 Brick and Mortar Saw (here are our thoughts on an earlier version of the tool) and then we discovered that they also carry a line of interesting woodworking/carving tools, most notably, the Power Chisel and the Mini-Grinder. Not too long ago, they released a very intense grinder attachment called the TURBOPlane. It took the concept of a power planer and stuck it on the end of a whirling grinder chuck. It's pretty badass and the rate at which it removes wood is really impressive (our review is here).

So now, we got word that they're on the verge of releasing a smaller version of the tool called the Mini-TURBO. They were nice enough to get one into our hands. We gave it a good test run and here's what we think.

ArrowContinue reading: "Arbortech Mini-TURBO - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

September 5, 2013

Paslode Fuel + Nail Packs - Review

paslode_fuel_nail2.JPG

This isn't a review as much as it's a high-five, fist-pound, belly-bump to Paslode for their Fuel + Nail packs. Since we got the li-ion version of the Paslode finish gun, we've hardly even picked up a pneumatic nailer. Why bother? The Paslode has all of the power with none of the compressor hassle. Gone are hoses, finding an outlet for the compressor, obnoxious filling noise, and just lugging the thing around. Goodbye.

So Paslode offers, these Fuel + Nail packs where you get 1000 galvy finish nails and a fuel pack. By a total coincidence, a fuel pack is good for approximately 1000 nails. They sent us one to check out and it all works like you'd expect it would. One really nice touch is that each pack includes an adapter nozzle so the gas canister can be used with the NiCd version of the tool. The connection in the Li-Ion gun is much better and not as fragile, but if you already own the older gun, these will work for you too.

Overall, they're really convenient and they eliminate that constant feeling we used to have where we were always worried about running out of fuel half way through a job.

The packs are around $20 and are available at Home Depot or online (or your local tool store).

At Amazon

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 3, 2013

Festool Carvex 420 Jigsaw - Review

festool_carvex_front.JPG

We've been waiting on the Festool Carvex for a while...maybe almost three years since we first heard about it. We got a chance to play with one at the JLC show a few years back and at the time it seemed like the jigsaw that would solve all of our jigsaw problems (accuracy, straight cuts, tight scrolls, etc). Then we heard that its release was delayed...and it disappeared for a while...but now it's here. When Festool offered to send us one to check out, we hopped at the opportunity. This one looks like it has it all. And as it turns out, it does have it all. But only if "all" includes a functionality problem that unfortunately cancels out much of the good that it has to offer and makes it a tool we can't recommend. A real and total bummer.

ArrowContinue reading: "Festool Carvex 420 Jigsaw - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (10) | social bookmarking

July 3, 2013

Warlord - Review

warlord.JPG

This. Is. Warlord.

What better way for us to celebrate the 4th of July than to take a look at a perfect product of American exceptionalism and rugged individuality. Meet Warlord.

ArrowContinue reading: "Warlord - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (5) | social bookmarking

June 24, 2013

Klein RT600 GFCI Receptacle Tester - Review

klein_gfci.JPG

Last week we looked at the bottomless well of confusing functionality that is the Klein MM5000 Multimeter (confusing because we're not that smart, not because of anything Klein did), but today we're checking out their latest GFCI receptacle tester, a much more friendly item to the electrically clueless.

ArrowContinue reading: "Klein RT600 GFCI Receptacle Tester - Review"

Doug Mahoney at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Newsletter
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz
Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Reviews
Recent Comments
Bob: Most large companies have enough patents granted to them that read more
Tool Snob: Oh yeah, those do look pretty similar. One cool thing read more
R: I got something similar from Garrett Wade years ago that read more
silk comforters: Good tools. read more
bob: Finding no solution to diamond cutter loosining every time read more
Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

HomePire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy